Trouble viewing this email? Click here to view it in your browser.
College of Engineering Today
Faculty Recognitions
Staff Recognitions
Grants and Contracts
COE Monthly Newsletter
COE Home COE Today Archive


Temkin Texas Tech University College of Engineering P.W. Horn Professor Henryk Temkin recently received a Distinguished Service Medal from the Department of Defense and the Aron Kressel Lasers and Electro-Optics Society (LEOS) Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

"We are very proud of Henryk's scientific and technical contributions at DARPA and in the Texas Tech College of Engineering," said Dean Pamela A. Eibeck, "He is a worldwide leader in the opto-electronics research field, and he certainly deserves these recognitions from IEEE and the Department of Defense.", LLC, an online education research firm, has released the results of their national higher education survey of tuition costs at accredited, distance-learning engineering graduate school degree programs, and the Texas Tech University College of Engineering has three degrees in the top 10. The online education survey ranks and recommends 28 engineering schools as Consumer Best Buy Online Universities, offering brand name graduate degrees online to consumers at tuition costs well below the national average. The survey of 46 regionally-accredited engineering schools offering 216 graduate degrees revealed distance learners seeking a master's in engineering or an allied technology career. The Master of Science in Systems & Engineering Management was ranked 2nd, and the Master of Engineering and Master of Science in Software Engineering were tied for 7th place. For the full rankings, visit

Faculty Recognition

Eibeck Dean Pamela A. Eibeck has been named one of the directors of the American Society of Engineering Education's Deans Council Executive Board. Dr. Eibeck will serve on the board until 2010. The Engineering Deans Council Executive Board members for 2008-2009 are:

Engineering Deans Council Chair  
Don Giddens Georgia Institute of Technology
Engineering Deans Council Vice Chair  
Tom Peterson University of Arizona
Cristina Amon University of Toronto
Lee Burge Tuskegee University
Joseph Cecchi University of New Mexico
Dianne Dorland Rowan University
Pamela Eibeck Texas Tech University
Kent Fuchs Cornell University
Kenneth Galloway Vanderbilt University

Gray George Gray, instructor in the Department of Engineering Technology, was recently quoted in the June issue of Composites Technology magazine discussing the role of composites knowledge within the structure of today's engineering education in an article entitled "Education: Retooling Theory and Practice." Mr. Gray previously addressed this issue at an American Composites Manufacturing Association annual conference through a paper presentation entitled "Advancing Composites Education and Training Through Curriculum Design."

Urban Morse Dr. Audra Morse, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering and Dr. Susan Urban, professor of computer science, have been selected to attend the Higher Education Resource Services (HERS) Institute for Women in Higher Education Administration at the University of Denver on August 3-8, September 12-13, October 24-25, and November 14-15. HERS is an educational non-profit providing leadership and management development for women in higher education administration. The HERS Denver Institute 2008 will offer 40 women faculty and administrators the opportunity to participate in an intensive leadership and management development program preparing them for institutional leadership roles in higher education administration.

Staff Recognition

Joan Blackmon, supervisor in the Department of Petroleum Engineering, received the President's Excellence in Academic Advising Award for 2008. The award is intended to encourage, recognize, and reward excellence in academic advising by faculty and/or staff at Texas Tech.

Lori Walraven was promoted to supervisor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering on July 1.

Grants and Contracts

Chemical Engineering

  • Drs. Rajesh S. Khare, Gregory B. McKenna, and Sindee L. Simon were awarded $150,000 by the National Aeronautics & Space Administration. The title of the proposal was "Novel Nanoparticle-Filled Matrices for Thermal Stress Reduction in Polymer Martrix Composites: Multi-Scale Modeling and Experimental Validation." Sindee Simon is the PI.
  • Dr. Karlene A. Hoo was awarded $27,270 by the National Science Foundation. The title of the proposal was "Workshop: Networking across the Profession to Better Use Cyberspace Tools for Discovery-based Learning (Seattle, WA, June 14, 2008)."

Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Dr. Clifford B. Fedler was awarded $125,987 by the TX On-Site Wastewater Treatment Research Council. The title of the proposal was "Effectiveness and Utility of Surface Application and Soil Percolation for Removal of Pharmaceutical and Personal Care Product Microcontaminants."
  • Dr. Clifford B. Fedler was awarded $184,853 by the TX On-Site Wastewater Treatment Research Council. The title of the proposal was "Refining the Application Rates for On-Site Surface Application Systems."

Mechanical Engineering

  • Drs. Siva Parameswaran and Sergey A. Smirnov were awarded $208,184 by DaimlerChrysler Corporation. The title of the proposal was "Drag Force Calculations on a Car-Trailer Assembly under Cross-Wind Conditions." Siva Parameswaran is the PI.
  • Drs. Valery I. Levitas and Yanzhang Ma were awarded $72,292 by the U.S. Army Research Office. The title of the proposal was "Phase Transformations in Ceramics under Compression and Shear."

Water Resources Center

  • Drs. W. Andrew Jackson, Audra N. Morse, Phillip T. Nash, Kenneth A. Rainwater and Lianfa Song were awarded $688,800 by the U.S. Department of Energy. The title of the proposal was "Great Plains Wind Power Test Facility."


Taiwan AlumniDr. Pat Patterson, professor and chair of the Department of Industrial Engineering, recently traveled to Taiwan to visit universities in Taipei to discuss student exchange and recruit graduate students. While there, he had the opportunity to have dinner with several Texas Tech industrial engineering alumni including Drs. Timothy Yang, 1997 Ph.D.; David Chiu, 2002 Ph.D.; Bernard Jiang, 1984 Ph.D.; Pat Patterson; Robert Kuo, 1997 Ph.D.; Chi-Ming Chang, 1986 Ph.D., and Yi-Jan Tsou, 1996 M.S.I.E.

Is your news listed here?

If not, submit it through your department's editor:

Chemical - Hudson, Jan
Civil and Environmental - Andrews, Glenna
Computer Science - Digby, Mysti
Electrical and Computer - Willingham, Sandi
Engineering Technology - Reigner, Mary
Industrial - Wilson, Terry
Mechanical - Hernandez, Carmen
Petroleum - Blackmon, Joan

  College of Engineering Today  

TTU Home | Texas Tech University System | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

2008 Texas Tech University | All Rights Reserved

Nov 20, 2014Mar 9, 2015