Texas Tech University

Social Work Faculty & Staff

 

Dr. Valerie Borum

MSW Program Director &
Associate Professor of Social Work

Holden Hall 162
valerie.borum@ttu.edu

MSW, Gallaudet University
PhD, Howard University

Teaching Areas:

Practice/Research Interests: 

 

 

Duvall

Ms. Valorie Duvall

Administrative Assistant for Social Work

Holden Hall 158
valorie.duvall@ttu.edu
806.834.6509

 

 

Dr. Margaret Elbow, LCSW 

Associate Professor of Social Work

Holden Hall 160
margaret.elbow@ttu.edu

MSW, University of Pittsburgh
DSW, Columbia University

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Social Work, Social Work Practice, Human Diversity and Social Work

Practice/Research Interests: family & children's services, psycho-social concerns of cancer survivorship, poverty & healthcare 

 

 

Long

Ms. Adrienne Long

Senior Advisor for Social Work

Holden Hall 161
adrienne.long@ttu.edu
806-834-0428
Make an appointment with Ms. Long 

 

 

Dr. Debra Lavender-Bratcher, LCSW 

Assistant Professor of Social Work

Holden Hall 168
debra.lavender-bratcher@ttu.edu

MSW, University of Denver
PhD in Human Services, Capella University

Teaching Areas: Diversity, HBSE, Social Work Practice

Practice/Research Interests: multi-ethnic identity; racial socialization

 

 

Dr. Laura Lowe, LCSW 

BASW Program Director &
Associate Professor of Social Work

Holden Hall 170
laura.lowe@ttu.edu

MSW, University of Georgia
PhD in Social Work, University of Georgia

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Social Work, HBSE, Research Methods, Social Work Practice

Practice/Research Interests: adolescent behavior, sexual aggression, practice/program evaluation, social work education, poverty & healthcare

 

 

Dr. Helen Morrow, LCSW

Associate Professor of Social Work

Holden Hall 164
helen.morrow@ttu.edu

MSSW, The University of Texas at Arlington
PhD in Political Science, Texas Tech University

Teaching Area: Social policy & Social Welfare Legislation, Supervision & Administration

Practice/Research Interests: the pedagogy of policy, public health, health care policy, social work supervision

 

 

Dr. Cynthia Phelps, LCSW

Director of MSW Field Education &
Assistant Professor of Practice

Holden Hall 166
cynthia.phelps@ttu.edu

MSW, University of Southern Mississippi
PhD in Social Work, Tulane University

Teaching Areas: HBSE, Human Diversity and Social Work Practice, Field Education

Practice/Research interests: field education

 

 

Dr. Andrew Rose, LMSW 

Assistant Professor of Social Work

Holden Hall 163
andrew.rose@ttu.edu

MSW, Brigham Young University
PhD in HDFS, University of Connecticut

Teaching Areas: Social Work Practice, Research Methods

Practice/Research Interest: family resilience, religiosity & family life

 

 

Ms. Cara Speer, LCSW

Director of BASW Field Education &
Assistant Professor of Practice

Holden Hall 165
cara.speer@ttu.edu

MSSW, University of Texas at Arlington

Teaching Areas: Field Education, Social Work Practice, HBSE, Policy

Practice/Research Interest: child abuse & neglect, hospice

 

 

Mr. Robert Wood, MSW

Instructor in Social Work, Part-time

Holden Hall 169
robert.m.wood@ttu.edu

MSW, Ohio State University

Teaching Areas: Why & How of Social Services, Introduction to Social Work, HBSE

Social Work