Texas Tech University

Radon Standards & Resources

Information & Hotlines

Texas Radon Information  Radon FAQ

Health & Risks 


Builders & Contractors

Radon Standards and Recommendations for Builders and Contractors

Buyers & Sellers

Schools & Universities

Physicians & Healthcare Professionals

Nationally Recognized Radon Proficiency Programs

Instrumentation Systems

Standards of Practice

Standards and protocols for conducting radon measurement and mitigation activities have been available since the early 1990s, and were developed in several ways: First, by EPA with radon industry input, second, under the ASTM standards development process, and third, by the ANSI-recognized American Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists (AARST) Consortium on National Radon Standards.

One or more of these standards have been recognized or adopted in several ways:  First, by various states with radon licensing or certification requirements, second, by EPA, and third, by national radon proficiency programs, of which there are two, the AARST-National Radon Proficiency Program (AARST-NRPP), and the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB).

Radon measurement and mitigation professionals should identify which standard and/or protocol they are following or comply with, usually determined by the state certification program or national certification program they participate in.

More information is available on the EPA radon website. There is currently no required, state-specific certification in Texas. However, the EPA only recommends NRPP-certified radon inspectors and mitigators.

Standards, Laws, & Regulations