Texas Tech University

Awards & Honors

We want to recognize the accomplishments of our members. 

  • Yujiao Zu, Ph.D. 
    • Awarded a $285,038 USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture seed grant to investigate novel prebiotic nanoparticles to enhance tart cherry anthocyanin bioavailability and improve gut health in the diet-induced obesity, 2023.
      Learn more: https://bit.ly/3OZe1hB 
  • Naïma Moustaïd-Moussa, Ph.D.
    • Selected to join as the new vice president-elect for the American Society for Nutrition (ASN) Board of Directors, 2023.   Read more: https://bit.ly/3qEOFf6 
  • Amanda M.V. Brown, Ph.D.
    • Outstanding Woman Leader (O.W.L.) Award from the West Texas Association for Women in STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Agriculture, Math), 2019
  • Andrew Shin, Ph.D.
    • Dr. Andrew Shin is awarded with R21 grant from the National Institute of Aging (NIA), NIH. Title: Branched-chain amino acids as a novel biomarker and treatment for Alheimer's disease. $415,355, 9/1/2020 - 8/31/2022
  • Ritchel Bueno Gannaban 
    • (Ph.D. Student) is the recipient of Distinguished Graduate Student Assistantship (DSGA). 
  • Breanna Harris, Ph.D.
    • President's Excellence in Teachcing Award, Recipient, Texas Tech University, 2020. 
  • Duke Appiah, Ph.D., MPH
    • Trudy Bush Fellowahip for Cardiovascular Disease Research in Women's Health, American Heart Association Council on Epidemiology and Prevention, March 2020
  • Elizabeth Trejos-Castillo, Ph.D.
    • Wolfe International Scholars Award from the College of Human Sciences, 2020
  • Gurvinder Kaur
    • Dean's Basic Science Teaching Award - Year 1, 2020
    • President's Team Teaching Award, FMAT1 course, 2019
    • The CH foundation Grant Awarded Title "Investing Sertoli cell immune regulation to improve islet survival as treatment for diabetes" for $60,000, January 2021-December 2021. 
  • Jason Van Allen, Ph.D.
    • "Effectiveness of a Childcare Hands-On Gardening Component for Preventing Preschool Obesity in Different Climatic Zones and Demographic Areas Sponsor: United States Department of Agriculture/National Institute of Food and Agriculture" Investigators: Muntazar Monsur, Ph.D. (PI), Jason Van Allen, Ph.D. (Co-I), Charles Klein, Ph.D. (Co-I), and Nilda Cosco, Ph.D. (Co-I). Total Costs: $272,149
    • College of Arts & Sciences Excellence in Research Award, Texas Tech University, 2019
  • Kembra Albracht-Schulte, Ph.D.
    • USDA NIFA Postdoctoral Grant Recipient, 2020
  • Mary Murimi
    • President's Excellence in Diversity & Equity Award, 2020
  • Naima Moustaid-Moussa, Ph.D., FTOS, FAHA
    • Elected to the ASN Board of Directors as Director At-Large representing the Nutrition Mechanisms Area, 2020-2022
    • Korean Nutrition Society Award sponsored by the American Society for Nutrition, 2020
  • Tariful Islam
    • Finalist of the Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition, Texas Tech University, 2019
    • Emerging Leader in Nutrition Science Competition at Nutrition Conference in Baltimore, 2019
    • Finalist of the Dietary Bioactive Components Poster Competition at the Nutrition Conference, 2019