Trouble viewing this email? Click here to view it in your browser.
Whitacre College of Engineering Today
Faculty Recognitions
Staff Recognitions
Grants and Contracts
Student Accomplishments
COE Monthly Newsletter
COE Home COE Today Archive


College Receives $42.5M Schlumberger Gift

Schlumberger The Bob L. Herd Department of Petroleum Engineering has accepted a $42.5 million gift of software presented by Schlumberger. The contribution includes 100 modules, licenses and maintenance of Petrel/Eclipse seismic-to-simulation software, a state-of-the-art geoscience and reservoir engineering interpretation and modeling package.

Drs. Ravi K. Vadapalli, a research associate in the Texas Tech High Performance Computing Center; Shameem Siddiqui, assistant professor of petroleum engineering and Kerr-McGee Company Professor of Petroleum Engineering; and Lloyd Heinze, professor and department chair of petroleum engineering and Roy Butler Chair in Petroleum Engineering, played a key role in bringing the software to Texas Tech.

Learn More

Nature Nanotechnology

Green Dr. Micah Green, a new assistant professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering, has recently co-authored an article in the November 2009 issue of the journal Nature Nanotechnology. The research focused on the development of processes to completely disperse carbon nanotubes. Green was a key researcher on the project during his time as a postdoctoral fellow at Rice University in the group of Professor Matteo Pasquali.

This article is part of a new feature series, entitled, "envision Snapshots." The articles will highlight the publications of faculty members of the Whitacre College of Engineering, featuring "snapshots" of faculty members' research interests. These stories will form the foundation of future features in envision Magazine, the research magazine of the college. Stories are edited by Dr. Javad Hashemi and Jeff Sammons.

Learn More

Faculty Recognitions

Faculty Awards

Farris Dr. Jennifer Farris, assistant professor of industrial engineering, was recently presented the 2009 Ted Eschenbach Best Engineering Management Journal Paper Award at the American Society for Engineering Management (ASEM) 30th Annual Conference in Springfield, Mo. on Oct. 14-17, 2009.

Grants and Contracts

10-20-2009 - 11-18-2009

Chemical Engineering

  • Dr. Gregory B. McKenna was awarded $10,750 by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. The title of the proposal was "JPS - Physics."

Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Dr. Clifford B. Fedler was awarded $30,966 by Texas AgriLife Research. The title of the proposal was "Development of Algal Culture of Biodiesel Productions."

Center for Multidisciplinary Research in Transportation

  • Dr. Timothy A. Wood was awarded $29,366 by the Texas Department of Transportation. The title of the proposal was "Perform Live Load Testing of Sandwich Panel System (SPS) Bridges in Wise County."
  • Drs. Hongchao Liu, Phillip T. Nash, and Sanjaya P. Senadheera were awarded $68,479 by the Texas Department of Transportation. The title of the proposal was "Synthesis of Successful Bicycle Planning in Mid-size Cities."

Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Dr. Donald Lie was awarded $35,000 by DOD/NoiseFigure, LLC. The title of the proposal was "NAVY STTR N09T035 Development of Novel Phase Shifterless RF Phase Array Antenna Systems."
  • Drs. Hongxing Jiang and Jingyu Lin were awarded $30,000 by the U.S. Army. The title of the proposal was "New Types of Photonic Devices and Structures."

Mechanical Engineering

  • Dr. Stephen Ekwaro-Osire was awarded $1,300 by the Texas Space Grant Consortium. The title of the proposal was "Exercise Device for the Crew Exploration Vehicle."
  • Dr. Jingzhou Yang was awarded $2,500 by the National Institute of Standards & Technology. The title of the proposal was "Modeling of Firefighter Respirators and Headforms."
  • Dr. Darryl L. James was awarded $62,196 by Sandia National Laboratories. The title of the proposal was "Sunshine to Petrol."

Water Resources Center

  • Drs. Annette Hernandez and Kenneth A. Rainwater were awarded $27,094 by the Bipartisan Policy Center. The title of the proposal was "Climate Change Impacts on Water Supply in West Texas."


Gengxin Zhang, a research assistant and graduate student in the Department of Chemical Engineering; Dr. Brandon Weeks, an associate professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering; and Richard Gee and Amitesh Maiti of the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory were co-authors of the cover article of the November issue of Applied Physics Letters. The title of the article is "Fractal growth in organic thin films: Experiments and modeling."


Student Accomplishments

Doyle Takes First Place in ASME Design Competition

Adam Doyle, a junior in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, recently took first place in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Student Design Competition in Orlando, Fla. The competition challenged students to design and build a vehicle that will retrieve rocks and bring them to a designated spot. The robot had to surmount small obstacles both in getting to the rocks and in bringing the rocks back to the designated deposit area.

ASEM Engineering Management Dissertation Award Winner

Dr. Marcus Banasik, a graduate of the Texas Tech Department of Industrial Engineering in May 2009, is the ASEM Engineering Management Dissertation Award winner for 2009. The title of Banasik's doctoral dissertation is "A Study of the Costs of Quality in a Renewable Resource Environment." He received Ph.D. and M.S. in Systems and Engineering Management degrees from Texas Tech. Banasik's dissertation advisor is Dr. Mario Beruvides. The ASEM Best Dissertation award includes a $1,000 prize.

ASEM Best Paper Contest

Cecilia Martínez, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Industrial Engineering, won 3rd place in the 2009 ASEM Annual Conference Student Best Paper Contest. The title of her paper is "The Decision Making Process in New Product Development: A Literature Review of the Toyota Case."

Students Publish Highly Downloaded Article

Jerry Lopez and Li Yan, graduate students in electrical and computer engineering, co-authored a paper entitled "Design of Highly Efficient Wideband RF Polar Transmitters Using the Envelope-Tracking Technique" in the September issue of the IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits. The article was among the top 25 most downloaded papers during the month of September 2009.

Submission Information

Email Whitacre College of Engineering Publications with news, events, or stories.

  Whitacre College of Engineering Today  

TTU Home | Texas Tech University Whitacre College of Engineering
©2009 Texas Tech University | All Rights Reserved

Nov 20, 2014Mar 9, 2015