TTU Home Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work Anthropology Faculty

Anthropology Faculty

Dr. Arthur Durband

Associate Professor, Physical Anthropology,
Anthropology Graduate Program Advisor
Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 2004

Areas of Specialization: Paleoanthropology, with research interests in modern human origins

Email: arthur.durband@ttu.edu

Office: Holden Hall 273
Phone: 806-834-2979

 

durband

Dr. Brett A. Houk

Associate Professor, Archaeology
Associate Chair, SASW Department
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin, 1996

Areas of Specialization: Texas prehistory, Mesoamerica, Maya archaeology, ancient urban planning, Cultural Resource Management (CRM)

Email: brett.houk@ttu.edu
Website: http://www.myweb.ttu.edu/bhouk/

Office: Holden Hall 277
Phone: 806-834-8107

 

 

Dr. Michael P. Jordan

Assistant Professor, Cultural Anthropology
Interim Anthropology Graduate Program Advisor
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 2011

Areas of Specialization: Ethnohistory and Expressive Culture of the Plains Indians, Economic Aspects of the Southern Plains Powwow, Historical Consciousness in Indigenous Communities, Digital Heritage Initiatives

Email: michael.jordan@ttu.edu

Office: Holden Hall 272
Phone: 806-834-8735

 

Jordan

Dr. Esther Lee

Visiting Assistant Professor, Physical Anthropology
PhD, Binghamton University, 2009

Areas of Specialization: Molecular anthropology, Ancient DNA, Population genetics

Email: esther.lee@ttu.edu

Office: Holden Hall 268
Phone:

 

Dr. Robert R. Paine

Professor of Anthropology, Forensic Anthropologist
Director of the Forensics Sciences Graduate and Minor Programs
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst, 1994

Areas of Specialization: Human osteology, skeletal histology, forensic anthropology, paleopathology (Texas prehistory, Villanovan culture, Iron-Age to Roman Imperial periods of Italy, 20th century South Africa autopsies, Roman-Byzantine burials of Turkey), nonhuman primate functional anatomy & histology

Email: robert.paine@ttu.edu
Website: http://www.webpages.ttu.edu/rpaine/

Office: Holden Hall 274

Office Hours: By appointment.
Phone: 806-834-8375

 

Lap Siu

Instructor
MA, Texas Tech, 2009

Areas of Specialization: Anthropological linguistics, Jarai grammar and dictionary, the Central Highlands of Vietnam.

Email: lap.siu@ttu.edu

Office: Holden Hall Room 26
Phone: 806-834-8774

 

Siu

Dr. Tamra L. Walter

Associate Professor, Archaeology
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin, 2000

Areas of Specialization: Historic archaeology, Spanish Colonial Texas, coastal Ecuador

Email: tamra.walter@ttu.edu

Office: Holden Hall 270
Phone: 806-834-0615

 

walter

Dr. Matthew C. Watson

Visiting Assistant Professor, Cultural Anthropology
Ph.D., University of Florida, 2010

Areas of Specialization: Anthropology of Science; History of Anthropology; Maya Studies; Religion and Cosmology; Cosmopolitics; Historical Knowledge; Postcolonial and Subaltern Studies; Public Science; Ethnographic Writing; Latin America

Email: matthew.c.watson@ttu.edu

Office: Holden Hall 269
Phone: 806-834-8780

 

Lauren Whitman

Instructor
MA, Texas Tech, 2009

Areas of Specialization: Historical Archaeology, Spanish Colonial Ceramics, Texas Archaeology

Email: lauren.whitman@ttu.edu

Office: Holden Hall Room 25
Phone: 806-834-3882

 

 

whitman

Dr. Jeff Williams

Professor of Anthropology, Linguistics
Past Chair, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin, 1987

Areas of Teaching: linguistics, anthropological linguistics, expressive
culture, anthropology of music

Areas of research: descriptive and documentary linguistics, contact
linguistics, dialectology, endangered languages, Papuan languages,
varieties of English in the West Indies, languages of mainland Southeast
Asia

Email: jeff.williams@ttu.edu

Office: Holden Hall 278

Office Hours: By appointment.

 

williams