Texas Tech University

Two Named Horn Professors

William Hase, professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Jingyu Lin, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, were appointed Horn Professors during the February meeting of the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents.

The Horn Professorship is the highest honor the university can bestow upon a faculty member. The designation, established in 1966, is named after the first president of Texas Tech University, Paul Horn. The professorship recognizes scholarly achievement and outstanding service to Texas Tech University.

Hase’s research group simulates the dynamics of molecular motion and chemical reaction at an atomistic, microscopic level.

Lin's research focus is in the study and discovery of nanophotonics.