Texas Tech University

About the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
at Texas Tech University

The mission of Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) at Texas Tech University is to provide enjoyable and stimulating non-credit learning and cultural opportunities for its members.

We are self-sustaining, supported through membership dues, class fees, an endowment from the Bernard Osher Foundation, donations and in-kind support from the Texas Tech Alumni Association and Texas Tech University.

The Bernard Osher Foundation is committed to the goal of establishing a national network of lifelong learning institutes at universities across the country, and Texas Tech was among the first 70 institutions to receive funding for its program. The Osher network now consists of 123 member institutions with at least one institute in every state, five in Texas, and several at Big 12 schools.

OLLI Advisory Boards


Donna Albus
John Blake
Carol Dromgoole
Don Frazier
Mark Hoover
Pam Mann
Bill Minter
Janet Payne
Judith Phaneuf
Becky Poindexter
Susan Robinson
Suzie Shahan
Jan Waggoner


Jim Lindley, M.D. – Chair
Ross Bigelow, Ph.D.
Jill Carr
Jim Crowhurst
Reg Gartner
Gwynne Juett
James Klein
Carl Luckenbach
Maria Robertson, MS
Marye Tharp, Ph.D.
Anne Weinheimer
Kenneth Williams

Highland Lakes

Bill Smyrl – Chair
Elaine Waddill – Vice Chair
Ray Buchanan, Ph.D
Brent Lane
Merrill Laurentz
Mark McCary
Frank Reilly
Bill Rives
Seth Smith
Sonya Smyrl
Scott Streit
Jearl Thorpe


Sarah Ancell
Nicky Anderson
James E. Brink, Ph.D.
Jan Broome
Kent Crowell
Jim Douglass
Marilyn Fannin
Ed Fowler
Jeff Klotzman
Diana Melcher
Jimmy Moore
Terri Navrkal, MS.Ed
Greg Pare
Jack Stagner
Sue Stagner
Tom Stone
Bill Wells

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI)

  • Address

    Texas Tech Plaza | 1901 University Avenue, Suite 513 | Lubbock, Texas 79410-5095 || Mailing: Box 45095 | Lubbock, TX 79409-5095
  • Phone

    (806) 742-6554
  • Email