Trouble viewing this email? Click here to view it in your browser.
Whitacre College of Engineering Today
Faculty News
Staff News
Grants and Contracts

Bookmark and Share
COE Monthly Newsletter
COE Home COE Today Archive
Whitacre College of Engineering Today
Connect with Engineering on FacebookConnect with Engineering on Twitter
Faculty News

Jiang Elected Fellow of The Optical Society

Dr. Hongxing Jiang, Horn Professor and Edward E. Whitacre Jr. Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering, has been elected as a fellow of The Optical Society (OSA).

He was elected "for outstanding research contributions to the synthesis, characterization, and applications of optoelectronic devices based on III-nitride semiconductor materials."

Since 1916, OSA has been the world’s leading champion for optics and photonics, uniting and educating scientists, engineers, educators, technicians and business leaders worldwide to foster and promote technical and professional development. Through publications, events and services, The Optical Society is helping to advance the science of light by addressing the ongoing need for shared knowledge and innovation.

Learn More

Watson Selected as ODK/Mortar Board Outstanding Faculty Member

Dr. Marshall Watson, department chair, Roy Butler Chair, and assistant professor of petroleum engineering, was selected as an Outstanding Faculty Member at Texas Tech University by the Texas Tech Chapters of Omicron Delta Kappa and Mortar Board.

Watson was recognized with other faculty members at the Nov. 9 football game against Kansas State. The award was based on dedication to students, unorthodox and effective teaching and assessment methods, promotion of undergraduate research opportunities, and professionalism and favorable representation of departments, colleges, the university, and the respective academic fields.

Staff News

Starcher Receives Rowan Award

Debbie Starcher, unit coordinator in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been named a recipient of the Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award for Execution as a part of Texas Tech University's Distinguished Staff Awards program. The Rowan award is given to staff members who go above and beyond when accomplishing tasks and projects. This is the third consecutive year that a Whitacre College of Engineering staff member has received a Rowan award.

The Distinguished Staff Awards program is a broad-based recognition effort that rewards staff for hard work, enthusiasm and dedication to Texas Tech. The awards are highly competitive and promote greater individual staff recognition across campus. Recipients were nominated electronically to ensure anonymity. The nominations were completed by other Texas Tech staff members and selected by a committee comprising past award recipients, and the Offices of the Chancellor and President

Learn More
Alumni News

Hudson Named President and CEO of SPS

David Hudson, a 1983 graduate with a bachelor of science in industrial engineering, has been named president and CEO of Southwestern Public Service (SPS) Company, a wholly owned electric utility subsidiary of Xcel Energy effective Dec. 31. Hudson, a native of Lubbock, began his career as a rate engineer in SPS’s rates and regulation department in 1983. He is a licensed engineer in Texas and received a master’s degree in business administration from West Texas A&M University in 1990.

Grants and Contracts

October 18, 2013 – November 11, 2013

Center for the Science and Engineering of Cyber Security
Dr. Rattikorn Hewett,
Dr. Akbar Siami Namin, and
Dr. Yuanlin Zhang
National Science Foundation EAGER: Sonifying Cyber-Security Cues for Internet Users Who Are Visually Impaired $100,981.12
Computer Science
Dr. Yuanlin Zhang Texas Research Incentive Program Sub of 18E002/TTU-BCS Revolution/Xie/A Global Approach Toward Manipulation of Tissue-and Development Stage-specific Gene Expression in Cotton $2,160
Construction Engineering and Engineering Technology
Dr. Daan Liang Texas Pipeline Association Current and Future Economic Impacts of Texas Oil and Gas Pipeline $4,178
Center for Multidisciplinary Research in Transportation
Dr. Moon-Cheol Won TX Dept of Transportation 46-3MTIA035 Technical Support for Rigid Pavements and Concrete Materials Branch $20,000
Dr. Alon Kvashny,
Dr. Hongchao Liu,*
Dr. Cynthia B. McKenney,
Dr. Sanjaya P. Senadheera, and
Dr. Moon-Cheol Won
TX Dept of Transportation Technical Assistance to Texas Department of Transportation $67,456
Center for Nanophotonics
Dr. Hongxing Jiang
Dr. Jingyu Lin
U.S. Army RDECOM Erbium-doped GaN Crystals as High Energy Laser Gain Medium $200,000
Center for Pulsed Power and Power Electronics
Dr. James C. Dickens
Dr. Andreas A. Neuber
Office of Naval Research Theoretical and Experimental Development of a SiC Photonic to RF Converter for HPM Generation using Both Conventional Radiators and Wavelet Based Antenna Arrays $130,737
Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Chang Dong Yeo Seagate Technology Contact Induced Mechanical/Magnetic Degradation of Head Slider $84,999
Dr. James Yang Ntl Patient Safety Foundation Identifying and Examining Micro Physical Environment Factors Contributing to Patient Falls $29,997.90
Dr. Michelle L. Pantoya Office of Naval Research Metal-hydride Based Reactive Material Composites $33,000
Petroleum Engineering
Dr. Marshall C. Watson Texas Pipeline Association Current and Future Economic Impacts of Texas Oil and Gas Pipeline $8,356
T-STEM Center
Dr. Cathy H. Allen
Dr. John R. Chandler
Various Sponsors - Other GRI: Texas Tech T-STEM Center 2013-2014 Cycle 2 Continuation Grant $2,833

* Primary Investigator


See a full listing of the college's events on the Engineering Master Calendar.

Follow the College on Facebook and Twitter

Keep up with news and events within the Whitacre College of Engineering by following the college on Facebook or Twitter. Updates are posted regularly.

Connect with Engineering on FacebookConnect with Engineering on Twitter
Email Whitacre College of Engineering Publications with news, events, or stories.

TTU Home | Texas Tech University Whitacre College of Engineering
©2013 Texas Tech University | All Rights Reserved
Nov 20, 2014Mar 9, 2015