Email this article to a friend

Harrell Captures Sammy Baugh Trophy

Texas Tech quarterback third since 2002 to win the award; currently nation’s leading passer.


Written by Chris Cook


Texas Tech Quarterback Graham Harrell is the winner of the 2007 Touchdown Club of Columbus trophy, an award that recognizes that nation's top collegiate passer.

For the third time since 2000, a Red Raider quarterback has claimed the Touchdown Club of Columbus trophy recognizing the nation’s top collegiate passer. Texas Tech junior quarterback Graham Harrell (Ennis, Texas) was announced today as the recipient of the Sammy Baugh Trophy. Harrell joins former Red Raiders Kliff Kingsbury and B.J. Symons, who won the award in 2002 and 2003, respectively.

"I was very impressed with Graham's command on the field," 1966 winner Bob Griese and current ABC college football analyst said. "He's always in control of every situation and he has the ability to read the coverage and get the ball to the open receiver. He is able to adjust quickly to whatever he needs to do. Whether the situation calls for a long throw or a touch pass, Graham had the answer."

Harrell, who holds the school career record with thirteen 400-yard passing games and has three straight, has a national-leading 5,298 passing yards this season. He is only the sixth player in NCAA history, and third Red Raider, to pass the 5,000-yard mark in a season and joins NCAA single-season record holder and former Tech quarterback B.J. Symons (5,833 in 2003) and Kliff Kingsbury (5,017 in 2002) on the list. He needs 252 yards in the bowl game to pass Hawaii’s Colt Brennan, who sits in second after passing for 5,549 yards last season.

Additionally, Harrell has thrown 46 touchdown passes in 200, which is tied in sixth place on the NCAA season list. He has 10,275 career passing yards and 86 touchdowns and is the 43rd player in NCAA history to eclipse the 10,000-yard mark. Harrell’s career touchdown total is tied 18th all-time with former Miami quarterback Ken Dorsey.

The Sammy Baugh Trophy’s namesake is considered one of the greatest collegiate and professional quarterbacks in history. Past winners of the award include Bob Griese (1966), John Elway (1982), Steve Young (1983), Duante Culpepper (1998) and David Carr (2001).

The Sammy Baugh Trophy will be presented during the Touchdown Club of Columbus’ 53rd Annual Sports Banquet on Sat., Feb. 19, 2008, at the Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in downtown Columbus, Ohio. For additional information, visit

Visit the official Texas Tech football Web site.

Nov 14, 2017