Texas Tech University

About the Burkhart Center

The Burkhart Center for Autism Education and Research, named for Jim and Jere Lynn Burkhart who have made significant contributions to the establishment and mission of the Center, officially opened in October of 2005.

Our Mission Statement

Our mission is to increase the quality of life for individuals with autism and their families by providing services, preparing educators, and conducting research.

Our Faculty and Staff

Name Title Office Phone Email
Allen, Tom Unit Associate Director - Financial Manager  205 806-834-5212 tom.allen@ttu.edu
Beights, Becca Research Assistant 232 806-834-3458 rebecca.beights@ttu.edu
Brocklehurst, Dede Admin Business Assistant 104 806-834-4751 dede.brocklehurst@ttu.edu
Brooks, Taylor Learning Specialist 238 806-834-0779 taylor.j.brooks@ttu.edu
Chandler, Nikki Research Assistant 220 806-834-5670 nikkolina.chandler@ttu.edu
Collins, Katherine Teacher Training Institute BCBA Supervisor     katherinehagen.collins@ttu.edu
Critz, Becky Family Support Specialist   806-224-5072 rebecca.critz@ttu.edu
Dotson, Wes Director 207 806-834-0783 wesley.dotson@ttu.edu
Golden, Kelly Project Coordinator 219 806-834-0779 kelly.j.golden@ttu.edu
Green, Katherine Teacher/Job Coach 233 806-834-8530 katherine.green@ttu.edu
Harmon, Rachel Learning Specialist 236 806-834-3929 rachel.harmon@ttu.edu
Leatherwood, Kirsten Research Assistant 220 806-834-0834 kirsten.shaw@ttu.edu
Lechtenberger, DeAnn Dir Community Outreach 218 806-834-7804 deann.lechtenberger@ttu.edu
Magness, Janice Director of the Transition Academy 216 806-834-3725 janice.magness@ttu.edu
McMurry, Sarah Behavior Therapist  222 806-834-7918 sarah.mcmurry@ttu.edu
Monawar, Tawny Mills Teacher/Job Coach 128 806-834-2474 tawny.monawar@ttu.edu
Ortiz-Martinez, Jessica Research Assistant 220 806-834-5187 jessica.ortiz-martinez@ttu.edu
Poppenger, Erin Business Coordinator 202 806-834-7020 erin.poppenger@ttu.edu
Ramos, Chris Teacher/Job Coach 107 806-834-6450 christopher.r.ramos@ttu.edu
Richardson, Ashley Senior Behavior Therapist 213 806-834-0142 ashley.richardson@ttu.edu
Sheats, Allison Clinical Supervisor 217 806-834-3612 allison.sheats@ttu.edu
Teague, Melanie Grant Manager 211 806-834-2552 melanie.teague@ttu.edu
Vasquez, Maggie Teacher/Job Coach 128 806-834-3020 maggie.vasquez@ttu.edu
Voland, Susan Unit Manager 215 806-834-1331 susan.voland@ttu.edu
White, Pamela Teacher Training Institute BCBA Supervisor     pamela.j.white@ttu.edu
Ysasaga, Traci Learning Specialist 238 806-834-7137 traci.ysasaga@ttu.edu