Mechanical Engineering
TTU Home Whitacre College of Engineering Mechanical Engineering Department Chair's Welcome

Chair's Welcome

Jharna Chaudhuri

Jharna Chaudhuri, Ph.D.

Office: ME 103
Phone: 806.742.3563 x224
Fax: 806.742.3540

Mailing Address:
Texas Tech University
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Box 41021
Lubbock, TX 79409

Dear friends, colleagues, and alumni:

We are pleased to share some of the exciting news in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas Tech University during the past year.

Our undergraduate student enrollment has increased to 1081 students from 950 last year, and currently we have 39 Master of Science and 73 Doctor of Philosophy students.

The Department has welcomed new faculty members: Drs. Jian Sheng, Burak Aksak, and Golden Kumar.

Dr. James Yang received the 2012 SAE Ralph R. Teeter Educational Award. Two of our alumni, Rear Admiral (select) John D. Alexander and James E. Lowder, were named Distinguished Engineers of the Whitacre College of Engineering.

A group of undergraduate students won the ASME Old Guard Oral Presentation. In addition, both undergraduate and graduate students have received numerous awards, as well as many recognitions.

Our graduate program ranking from U.S. News & World Report improved to the 81st position from 93 in the previous year. The FE Exam passing rate for our graduating seniors was 90% in October 2012.

The Department has built a strong connection with the Academy and Industry Advisory Board (IAB) members. Through this connection, the Department has the ability to provide scholarships to our students from the donations from the Academy, IAB, and engineering industry. All that we have accomplished in our education and research programs has been made possible by the excellence and dedication of the Mechanical Engineering faculty and staff members.

If you are in the Lubbock area, please do not hesitate to stop by and see the exciting things developing in the Department.

Dr. Jharna Chaudhuri
Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering
January 2013