Special Dietary Needs
Students that must abstain from products containing gluten are given as much consideration as possible. We work with students on an individual basis if needed to give them access to food labels and ingredient lists. Some of our locations will cook to order certain items that are gluten free, so speak with a manager if you would like more information about these items. We are constantly searching for gluten-free items to increase the options available for students, so check the Nutrition page downloads regularly to locate gluten-free products being offered on campus.
Please keep in mind that items labeled gluten-free do not contain wheat, barley, or rye, but are produced in a kitchen that is not certified gluten-free. It is recommended that all guests with food allergies consult our Registered Dietitian for additional assistance and accommodations at (806) 834-0849 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Vegan/Vegetarian options are offered at almost all locations on campus. We will work with students on an individual basis if needed to provide ingredient lists and suggestions. For additional information regarding vegan/vegetarian items on campus, please check the Nutrition page downloads. You can also check out the healthy eating guidelines page for more information on eating a healthy vegan/vegetarian diet. We are also continuously adding new vegan/vegetarian foods to our menus in dining halls and retail outlets, so check back often to learn about new items.
An adverse reaction to a food is not always an allergic one. Most of the reactions cause by food are actually food intolerances. The two are easily confused because they share many of the same signs and symptoms. However, unlike a food allergy, a food intolerance does not involve the immune system.
Several food intolerance conditions that are often mistaken for allergies include Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), food poisoning, sensitivity to food additives, stress or psychological factors, celiac disease, or absence of a necessary enzyme (as seen in individuals with lactose intolerance).
Gluten-Free | Video