Texas Tech University

PSS Faculty Research Interests

Faculty in the Department of Plant and Soil Science conduct research at the cutting edge of their professions. During calendar year 2015, our faculty brought in $7.6 million in external research grants, cash gifts, and in-kind support. These funds were used to support our graduate program and research activities.


Explore our faculty research interests:

Crop Protection Research Specialty
Peter Dotray Weed Science
Scott Longing Entomology
Jason Woodward Plant pathology
Crop Science Research Specialty
Mark Burow Peanut breeding and genomics
Benildo de los Reyes Plant Genomics
Glen Ritchie Crop physiology
Wenxuan Guo Crop Ecophysiology & Precision Agriculture
Rosalyn Shim Plant Breeding and Genetics
Chuck West Forage-livestock systems
Robert Wright Crop molecular genetics
 Wenwei Xu  Corn breeding
Fiber and Biopolymer Research Specialty
Noureddine Abidi Biopolymer science
Dean Ethridge Cotton production and processing
Eric Hequet Cotton fiber quality
Yang Hu Multifunctional renewable bioproducts
Venugopal Mendu Plant cell wall biosynthesis
Horticulture Research Specialty
Ed Hellman Viticulture and Enology
Cynthia McKenney Ornamental horticulture
Thayne Montague Plant physiology/viticulture
Jyotsna Sharma Plant ecology and conservation
Joey Young Turfgrass science
Soil Science Research Specialty
JD Booker Urban Soils
Sanjit Deb Soil physics and hydrology
Lindsey Slaughter Soil Microbial Ecology/Biochemistry
David Weindorf Pedology
 [ Back ]

Department of Plant and Soil Science