Texas Tech University

Political Science Ph.D. Students

Name Subfields Research Interests Contact Information

Raisa Abid

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor:Public Administration

International Political Economy, economic development, territorial conflict, formal modeling

Raisa.Abid@ttu.edu

 

Abderrahmane Amor

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor:Public Administration

Democratization, United States foreign policy toward the Middle East, Religion, Turkey

Abderrahmane.Amor@ttu.edu

 

Pablo Hernandez Borges

Major: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Minor: Methods

Democratization, Latin American politics, elections, political systems

pablo.hernandez.Borges@ttu.edu

 

James P. Bassett

Major: American Politics and Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Congress, European Parliament, Legislative Influence, Polarization

jamie.bassett@ttu.edu

 

Justin Carter

Major: Comparative, American

Minor: Methods

Ethnic politics and conflict, security studies

justin.carter@ttu.edu

 

Kerry Chavez

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Patterns and technologies of conflict, conflict intervention

kerry.chavez@ttu.edu

 

Travis Cole

Major: International Relations and American Politics

Minor: Methods

Economic Sanctions, Presidency, Congress, Methods

travis.j.cole@ttu.edu

 

Nathaniel "Nathan" Crosby

Major: Comparative and International Relations

Gender representation, legislative studies, Latin American politics

nathaniel.crosby@ttu.edu

Website

Matthew Ellison

Major: American, international relations

Minor: Comparative

Voting behavior, campaigns, the media and politics

matthew.ellison@ttu.edu

 

Yonathan Hailu

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics
Minor:
Research Methods

Political Economy, Economic Sanctions, Interstate and intrastate conflict

yonathan.hailu@ttu.edu

Timothy P. Holland

Major: American, comparative

Minor: International relations

Electoral institutions, state and local politics, voting behavior, Legislative politics, GLBT politics

timothy.holland@ttu.edu

Lisa M. Holz

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor:

Non-state actors, human trafficking, military interventions, just war theory

Lisa.M.Holz@ttu.edu

Courtney Kinkade

Major: International Relations and American Politics

Minor: Methods

Terrorism, United States foreign policy

Courtney.Kinkade@ttu.edu

John Kmiecik

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Conflict Resolution, Interstate Conflict, Intrastate Conflict, and Democratization

john.kmiecik@ttu.edu

Tyson Meredith

Major: Comparative, International relations

Minor: American

Terrorism, domestic sources of international conflict, political violence, party system effectiveness, democratization

ty.meredith@ttu.edu

Delilah Mochoge

Major: Public Administration, International relations

Minor: American

Political Participation,influence politics, health care policy

delilah.b.mochoge@ttu.edu

David Pena

Major: American, comparative

Minor: American Politics

Political behavior, biopolitics, gender politics, institutions, Middle East politics

david.pena@ttu.edu

Rimvydas Ragauskas

Major: Comparative Politics and International Relations

Minor: Methods

Economic sanctions, political economy, electoral behavior

rimvydas.ragauskas@ttu.edu

 

Mohammad Rahman

Major: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Minor: American Politics

Geopolitics, maritime policy, environmental policy, regionalism

Mohammad.Rahman@ttu.edu

James H. Ruhland

Major: Comparative, International Relations

Minor: American Politics

Political economy of trade and regulations, comparative political institutions, historical political economy, political thought

james.ruhland@ttu.edu

Nazmus Sakib

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Conflict in Middle East, American Foreign Policy in Middle East, Political Economy of Authoritarian Regimes in Middle East, South Asian Politics

nazmus.sakib@ttu.edu

Maria Seredina

Major: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Minor: Methods

Russian studies, Democratization, Dominant party systems, Nationalization and institutionalization of party systems

maria.seredina@ttu.edu

Nolan Smith

Major: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Minor:

Transatlantic relations, hegemony

Nolan.J.Smith@ttu.edu

Danie Vaughn

Major: American Politics and Public Administration

Minor:

Environmental, climate, and health policy

danie.vaughn@ttu.edu

 

James Wright

Major: American Politics and International Relations

Minor: Comparative Politics

American voter behavior, voter behavior, American foreign policy

james.wright@ttu.edu

 

Jiayi Zhou

Major: American Politics and Public Administration 

Minority politics, Asian politics

jiayi.zhou@ttu.edu

 

 

Department of Political Science

  • Address

    Dept. of Political Science, Texas Tech University, 113 Holden Hall, Boston & Akron Streets, Lubbock, TX 79409-1015 Fax: 806.742.0850
  • Phone

    806.742.3121
  • Email

    pols.webmaster@ttu.edu