Texas Tech University

Political Science Ph.D. Students

Name Subfields Research Interests Contact Information

James P. Bassett

Major: American Politics and Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Congress, European Parliament, Legislative Influence, Polarization

 

Justin Carter

Major: Comparative, American

Minor: Methods

Ethnic politics and conflict, security studies

justin.carter@ttu.edu

 

Kerry Chavez

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Patterns and technologies of conflict, conflict intervention  

Nicholas B. Creel

Major: Comparative, American

Minor: International relations

Religion and politics, American foreign policy, political behavior

nbcreel@gmail.com

Nathaniel "Nathan" Crosby

Major: Comparative and International Relations

Gender representation, legislative studies, Latin American politics

nathaniel.crosby@ttu.edu

Website

Stephen Davis

Major : International Relations and Comparative Politics

Minor - Public Policy

Food Security, Intrastate Conflict, Political Violence, Gender Politics

stephen.davis@ttu.edu

 

Matthew Ellison

Major: American, international relations

Minor: Comparative

Voting behavior, campaigns, the media and politics

matthew.ellison@ttu.edu

 

Timothy P. Holland

Major: American, comparative

Minor: International relations

Electoral institutions, state and local politics, voting behavior, Legislative politics, GLBT politics

timothy.holland@ttu.edu

J. Weston Jamison

Major: Comparative, international relations

Minor: Methods

Comparative political economy, East Asian politics and Western relations (especially the US)

w.jamison@ttu.edu

John Kmiecik

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Conflict Resolution, Interstate Conflict, Intrastate Conflict, and Democratization

john.kmiecik@ttu.edu

Didarul Islam Manik

Major: Comparative Politics and International Relations

Minor: American Politics

Political Communication, Media and Politics, Political use of social media  

Tyson Meredith

Major: Comparative, international relations

Minor: American

Terrorism, domestic sources of international conflict, political violence, party system effectiveness, democratization

ty.meredith@ttu.edu

Lulu U. Onakpoya

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics

Ethnic and Interstate Conflict, Conflict Resolution, International Trade, Trade Wars and Regulation

 

Sivagaminathan Palani

Major: Comparative, international relations

Minor: Methods

Ethnic conflicts, regionalization of party systems

sivagaminathan.palani@ttu.edu

David Pena

Major: American, comparative

Minor: Methods

Political behavior, biopolitics, gender politics, institutions, Middle East politics

david.pena@ttu.edu

Aakriti Pyakurel

Major: Public Administration; American Politics

Health policy, health disparities

 

Rimvydas Ragauskas

Major: Comparative Politics and International Relations

Minor: Methods

Economic sanctions, political economy, electoral behavior  

James H. Ruhland

Major: Comparative, International Relations

Minor: American

Comparative political economy, International Trade, Regulations, Human development, Ideology, Political Theory

james.ruhland@ttu.edu

Ahmed Sabit

Major: American Politics and International Relations

Minor: International Relations

Dynamical systems, Bayesian statistics, monetary policy, political economy

 

Nazmus Sakib

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politic

Minor: Methods

Conflict in Middle East, American Foreign Policy in Middle East, Political Economy of Authoritarian Regimes in Middle East, South Asian Politics

nazmus.sakib@ttu.edu

Maria Seredina

Major: Comparative Politics

Minor: International Relations

Russian studies, political parties, and dominant party systems

maria.seredina@ttu.edu

Daniel Spinks

Major: Comparative, American

Minor: Methods

Gender politics, European Parliament, political parties, legislative institutions, quantitative research methods

daniel.spinks@ttu.edu

Sriyai "Hammerli" Surachanee

Major: Comparative, American

Minor: Methods

Social media and politics, political stability

surachanee.sriyai@ttu.edu

James Wright

Major: American Politics and International Relations

Minor: Comparative Politics

American voter behavior, voter behavior, American foreign policy  

Jiayi Zhou

Major: American Politics and Public Administration 

Minority politics, Asian politics

 

 

Department of Political Science

  • Address

    Dept. of Political Science, Texas Tech University, 113 Holden Hall, Boston & Akron Streets, Lubbock, TX 79409-1015 Fax: 806.742.0850
  • Phone

    806.742.3121
  • Email

    pols.webmaster@ttu.edu