Texas Tech University

Political Science Ph.D. Students

Name Subfields Research Interests Contact Information

Raisa Abid

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor:Public Administration

International Political Economy, economic development, territorial conflict, formal modeling

Raisa.Abid@ttu.edu

 

Abderrahmane Amor

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Democratization, United States foreign policy, Islamic political thought, Islamist parties post-Arab Spring

Abderrahmane.Amor@ttu.edu

 

Ellyn Anthony

Major: International Relations, Public Administration

Minor: Public Policy

Water, Resource Allocation, Equitable Distribution

Ellyn.Anthony@ttu.edu

Dipak Banjade

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor: Public Administration

Geopolitical Strategy and International Politics

Dipak.Banjade@ttu.edu

Pablo Hernandez Borges

Major: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Minor: Methods

Latin American Politics, Democratization, Legislatures, Gender Representation, Social Media

pablo.hernandez.Borges@ttu.edu

 

James P. Bassett

Major: American Politics and Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Congress, European Parliament, Legislative Influence, Polarization

jamie.bassett@ttu.edu

 

Justin Carter

Major: Comparative, American

Minor: Methods

Ethnic politics and conflict, security studies

justin.carter@ttu.edu

 

Kerry Chavez

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Patterns and technologies of conflict, conflict intervention

kerry.chavez@ttu.edu

 

Travis Cole

Major: International Relations and American Politics

Minor: Methods

Economic Sanctions, Presidency, Congress, Methods

travis.j.cole@ttu.edu

 

Nathaniel "Nathan" Crosby

Major: Comparative and International Relations

Gender representation, legislative studies, Latin American politics

nathaniel.crosby@ttu.edu

Website

Matthew Ellison

Major: American, international relations

Minor: Comparative

Voting behavior, campaigns, the media and politics

matthew.ellison@ttu.edu

 

Yonathan Hailu

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics

Minor: Research Methods

Political Economy, Economic Sanctions, Interstate and intrastate conflict

yonathan.hailu@ttu.edu

Victor Hinojosa

Major: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Third-Parties, Elections, Campaigns, Voting Behavior

Victor.Hinojosa@ttu.edu

Timothy P. Holland

Major: American, comparative

Minor: International relations

Electoral institutions, state and local politics, voting behavior, Legislative politics, GLBT politics

timothy.holland@ttu.edu

Lisa M. Holz

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor:

Non-state actors, human trafficking, military interventions, just war theory

Lisa.M.Holz@ttu.edu

Miranda Jones

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor: American Politics

National Security Strategies, Coalition Politics, Russian and Post Soviet Studies

Miranda.L.Jones@ttu.edu

Courtney Kinkade

Major: International Relations and American Politics

Minor: Methods

Terrorism, United States foreign policy

Courtney.Kinkade@ttu.edu

John Kmiecik

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Conflict Resolution, Interstate Conflict, Intrastate Conflict, and Democratization

john.kmiecik@ttu.edu

Gor Mkrtchian

Major: Comparative Politics and International Relations

Minor: Economics

Development Economics, International Political Economy

Gor.Mkrtchian@ttu.edu

Delilah Mochoge

Major: Public Administration, Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Health Politics and Policy, Public Policy, Political Participation, Race and Ethnicity Organization Management

delilah.b.mochoge@ttu.edu

Henry Moncrieff Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Civil-Military Relations, Authoritariansim, Latin American Politics, Security Studies

Henry.Moncrieff@ttu.edu

Silvio Livio Simonetti Neto

Major:  International relations, Comparative

Minor: Methods

International Trade, Economic Development, Multilateral Organizations

Silvio-Livio.Simonetti-Neto@ttu.edu

David Pena

Major: American, comparative

Minor: American Politics

Political behavior, biopolitics, gender politics, institutions, Middle East politics

david.pena@ttu.edu

Rimvydas Ragauskas

Major: Comparative Politics and International Relations

Minor: Methods

Economic sanctions, political economy, electoral behavior

rimvydas.ragauskas@ttu.edu

 

Mohammad Rahman

Major: International Relations and Comparative Politics

Minor: American Politics

Geopolitics, maritime policy, environmental policy, regionalism

Mohammad.Rahman@ttu.edu

James H. Ruhland

Major: Comparative, International Relations

Minor: American Politics

Political economy of trade and regulations, comparative political institutions, historical political economy, political thought

james.ruhland@ttu.edu

Nazmus Sakib

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor: Methods

Conflict in Middle East, American Foreign Policy in Middle East, Political Economy of Authoritarian Regimes in Middle East, South Asian Politics

nazmus.sakib@ttu.edu

Maria Seredina

Major: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Minor: Methods

Russian studies, Democratization, Dominant party systems, Nationalization and institutionalization of party systems

maria.seredina@ttu.edu

Nolan Smith

Major: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Minor: Public Policy

Transatlantic relations, hegemony

Nolan.J.Smith@ttu.edu

Jordan Stice

Major: Amerccan Politics

Minor: International Relations

Political Behavior, Gender, Political Communications, U.S. Foreign Policy

Jordan.Stice@ttu.edu

Dongan Tan

Major:  International Relations, Public Administration

Minor:

Public Values, Democracy, Non-governmental Organizations

dongan.tan@ttu.edu

Sheriff Tijani

Major: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Minor: American Politics

Global/armed conflict, terrorism

Sheriff.Tijani@ttu.edu

Danie Vaughn

Major: American Politics and Public Administration

Minor: Public Policy

Bureaucracy; Disaster Management & Risk; Environmental Justice; Climate, Environmental & Health Policy

danie.vaughn@ttu.edu

 

James Wright

Major: American Politics and International Relations

Minor: Comparative Politics

American voter behavior, voter behavior, American foreign policy

james.wright@ttu.edu

 

 

Department of Political Science

  • Address

    Dept. of Political Science, Texas Tech University, 113 Holden Hall, Boston & Akron Streets, Lubbock, TX 79409-1015 Fax: 806.742.0850
  • Phone

    806.742.3121
  • Email

    pols.webmaster@ttu.edu