Texas Tech University

Outstanding Researcher and Barnie E. Rushing Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Awards

The Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Distinguished Research Award recognizes excellence in research, scholarship, and creative activity. Two awards will be given: one in the STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) disciplines and one in the social science, humanities, and creative arts disciplines. Finalists for this award are selected through a three phase process. During the first phase, initial nominations are made by the Colleges. Nominees are evaluated by a Committee comprised of the Associate Deans of Research during the second phase. They are evaluated on quality of scholarship, publications or creative works, and reference letters. Finally, two nominees from each award category are submitted to the Texas Tech Parents Association who will make the final award decision. The recipients of this award will each receive an honorarium of $3,000 and will be recognized at both the Parents Association's Annual Faculty & Student Breakfast Reception and the Faculty Honors Convocation hosted by the Provost's Office. Nominees who are not chosen as recipients of the Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research awards will be considered for the Outstanding Researcher award. Recipients of the Outstanding Researcher will receive a $1,500 honorarium and will be recognized at the Faculty Honors Convocation.

Nominees must hold the rank of Assistant Professor (or equivalent) or above and their research contributions should be of such quality that their significance has been or likely will be recognized nationally by peers in the nominee's own discipline. For the purpose of this award, achievements in the arts, such as paintings and musical compositions, will be considered along with more traditional research or intellectual property development.

Nominations for the Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Award and the Outstanding Researcher award are accepted annually through https://ttu.infoready4.com/ as outline in TTU OP 32.24. The nomination form and additional information is available beginning in early November.

2020 Recipients

RECIPIENT College Award
Harvinder Gill Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering Barnie Rushing, Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award recipient (STEM disciplines)
RECIPIENTS (Social Science/Humanities/Creative Arts)
Susan Larson College of Arts & Sciences Barnie Rushing, Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award recipient (Social Science, Humanities, and Creative Arts disciplines)
Jamie Baker School of Law Outstanding Researcher
Rebecca Hite College of Education Outstanding Researcher
Tigga Kingston College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Researcher
Asheley Landrum College of Media & Communication Outstanding Researcher
Naima Moustaid-Moussa College of Human Sciences Outstanding Researcher
Kristine Stiphany College of Architecture Outstanding Researcher
Charles (Chuck) West College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources Outstanding Researcher

Past Barnie Rushing Recipients

Past Outstanding Research Awardees

For more information, please contact the Office of Research & Innovation at research.innovation@ttu.edu or at (806) 742-3904.