Texas Tech University

Diamond Award banner


This new award was created by the Teaching Academy and TLPDC to recognize faculty who used a variety of strategies and innovations to teach effectively online during the pandemic as they met and overcame numerous challenges. The 15 recipients were recognized publicly on May 3, 2021 at the spring business meeting of the Teaching Academy, and will receive a plaque for their innovative teaching providing a transformational learning experience for students during a pandemic. Their teaching eased the stress on students as shown by their attitude of “going the extra mile” as they helped students learn in new ways. They each made a huge difference by showing compassion and dedication to students while sharing their expertise and being a positive example. 

2021 Recipients

Bhagya Athukorallage

Instructor, Mathematics & Statistics

Vikram Baliga

Lecturer, Plant and Soil Science

Katherine Brooke

Lecturer, Classical & Modern Languages & Literatures

Sylvia Flores

Lecturer, Classical & Modern Languages & Literatures

Gregory Gellene

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Kerry Griffis-Kyle

Associate Professor, Natural Resources Management

Daniel P. Kelly

Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology & Leadership

Linley Melhem

Lecturer, Classical & Modern Languages & Literatures

Kelsey Moore

Instructor, Professional Communication

Nicole Piland

Associate Professor of Practice, Couple, Marriage, and Family Therapy

Benjamin Poole

Lecturer, History

Bill Poirier

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Mallory maria Prucha

Assistant Professor, Theatre and Dance

Raychel Vasseur

Assistant Professor, Classical & Modern Languages & Literatures

Heather Warren-Crow

Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts




Teaching Academy

  • Address

    University Library Building, Room 136, Mail Stop 2044, Lubbock, TX 79409-2004
  • Phone

  • Email