Texas Tech University

The John M. Burns Conference on The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Save the Date

Please save the date for this year's conference: September 18th, 2020

Although the John M. Burns Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Conference has traditionally been offered face-to-face, the Teaching Academy is carefully considering alternative deliveries and formats in light of uncertainties due to COVID-19. We will update this site and all registered individuals as soon as more information becomes available.


The John M. Burns Conference on the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning is co-sponsored each year by the Teaching, Learning, and Professional Development Center and the Teaching Academy. Named in honor of Dr. John M. Burns, who helped found the Teaching Academy, this conference is held each fall and features two keynote sessions from an invited teacher-scholar and a poster session from recipients of the Annual Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarship Award. Past speakers include Bryan Dewsbury, Peter Felten, Claire Howell Major, Michele DiPietro, and Derek Bruff.

Teaching, Learning, & Professional Development Center