Texas Tech University

WT-AWIS Awards

OWLawis awardAwardGroup

EACH SPRING, West Texas Association for Women in STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Agriculture, Math) recognizes both men and women who actively support the advancement of women in the sciences. Male TTU or TTUHSC faculty and staff who have demonstrated their commitment to the education, training and mentoring of women in the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) disciplines, and to overall gender equity in science, may be nominated for the COW (Champion of Women) Award. Female TTU or TTUHSC faculty and staff may be nominated for the OWL (Outstanding Woman Leader) Award. Students and members of the community also are eligible for nomination.

Nominate an individual for the C.O.W. or O.W.L. Award here.

Past COW award winners:

Past OWL award winners:

CRANE Award:

Crane Award

The Champion Rebel Ambassador of Nobility and Excellence (CRANE) Award was created to capture the devotion and enthusiasm of those who promote student excellence and success. Julie Isom was awarded the very first CRANE Award in 2021 for her incredible work and passionate dedication to her students and to WT-AWIS.


Travel Award:

In addition to the COW and OWL awards, WT-AWIS gives Travel Awards to WT-AWIS members who have demonstrated their commitment to supporting and being outstanding women in science. The goal for the WT-AWIS Travel Award is to support women in STEAM disciplines by providing supplemental travel funding for the purpose of attending and presenting at STEAM conferences and workshops. WT-AWIS Travel Award Applications for professional travel support will be accepted on a rolling submissions basis throughout the year and will award up to $200 per individual and cannot be the sole source of support for the travel. Personal funds are an acceptable source of additional support. Apply here.