Texas Tech University

Texas Tech Fulbright Scholars

For the latest information on Fulbright Scholarships, please visit the Office of International Affairs.

Applying for a Fulbright Award

All disciplines are eligible and encouraged to apply for a Fulbright.


See the Fulbright Scholar website for official deadlines.

Required Application Materials 

  • Application form
  • Project statement
  • CV
  • Bibliography
  • Invitation letter
  • Course syllabi and supplementary materials if applicable

The applicant also must request letters from three references (at least one outside home institution), register the references (online), and complete the language proficiency sections as applicable.

Developmental leave 

This award requires a faculty development leave (FDL). An expedited FDL procedure will be used when faculty receive one of the targeted external awards that is recognized by AAU/CMUP/THECB and is supported by internal incentives. This procedure is described here.

Awarded funds

A Fulbright Award is paid directly to the faculty member and does not go through TTU.

Institutional Review Board

Relevant IRB approval must be obtained from the applicant's home institution before research can be started.

Resources for Applying

The following faculty are prior Fulbright Core Scholars and are happy to answer questions from faculty who are interested in applying for a Fulbright award.

Natalia Velikova (Georgia, 2016-2017)

Paul Bjerk (Tanzania, 2015-2016)

John Gilliam (Czech Republic, 2018-2019)

Ron Milam (Vietnam, 2011-2012)

John Poch (Spain, 2013-2014)

Kent Wilkinson (Chile, 2015-2016)

Past winning document examples

Fulbright Scholar Program's Application Guidelines

Fulbright Scholar Program's Project Statement Samples

Past Fulbright Scholars

Year 2018-2019

  • John Gilliam, Personal Financial Planning, Czech Republic
  • Antonio Ladeira, Classical and Modern Language and Literature, Brazil

Year 2019-2020

  • Ali Nejat, Civil, Environmental, and Construction Engineering, Azerbaijan
  • Ravindra Joshi, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Slovenia
  • Sara Spurgeon, English, Norway

Year 2017-2018

  • Cristina Bradatan, Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work, Romania
  • Michael Farmer, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics, State of Sabah, Malaysia
  • Yuan Shu, Department of English, Singapore
  • Elizabeth Trejos-Castillo, Department of Human Development and Family Studies, Brazil
  • James Yang, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Spain

Year 2016-2017

  • Costica Bradatan, Honors College, France
  • Tanja Karp, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, South Africa
  • Natalia Velikova, Department of Hospitality and Retail Management, Georgia

Year 2015-2016

  • Noureddine Abidi, Department of Plant and Soil Science, Belgium
  • Paul Bjerk, Department of History, Tazmania
  • Peter Briggs, Museum of Texas Tech University, Lithuania
  • Kent Wilkinson, Department of Journalism and Electronic Media, Chile

Year 2014-2015

  • Sankar Chatterjee, Museum of Texas Tech University, India
  • Conrad Lyford, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics, Ethiopia
  • Rich Rice, Department of English, India

Year 2013-2014

  • Arthur C. Durband, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work, Australia
  • William Lan, Department of Educational Psychology and Leadership, Thailand
  • David James Lektzian, Department of Political Science, Lithuania
  • Tim Matis, Department of Industrial, Manufacturing and Systems Engineering, Chile
  • Susan Myers, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, India
  • Paul Pare, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Brazil
  • Kelly Phelan, Department of Hospitality and Retail Management, Botswana
  • John Poch, Department of English, Spain
  • Hamed Sari-Sarraf, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Azerbaijan
  • Trenia L. Walker, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, Kosovo

Year 2012-2013

  • Ben Goh, Department of Hospitality and Retail Management, Thailand
  • Andreas Schneider, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work, Thailand

Year 2011-2012

  • Ron Milam, Department of History, Vietnam

Year 2010-2011

  • Mark McGinley, Department of Biological Sciences, Malaysia