Texas Tech University

Personal Financial Planning

Faculty Research Interests

Name Email Research Interests
Sarah Asebedo, Ph.D., CFP® sarah.asebedo@ttu.edu With extensive financial planning practitioner experience, Dr. Asebedo's goal is to connect research and practice with a focus on the relationship between psychological attributes, financial conflicts, and financial behavior.
Chris Browning, Ph.D. christopher.m.browning@ttu.edu Consumer behavior and financial decision making, retirement planning and policy, cognitive ability and retirement portfolio management
Harold Evensky, CFP® Harold@Evenskykatz.com Behavioral finance issues in financial planning; Educational requirements for PFP graduates; Portfolio design in low return environment
John Gilliam, Ph.D., CFP®, ChFC, CLU john.gilliam@ttu.edu Behavioral characteristics effecting couple's financial risk tolerance, Assessment of Investment Risk Tolerance, Risk Tolerance and Asset Allocation, Investment Risk Tolerance and Mental Accounting, Behavioral Finance, Intra-cohort differences among Baby boomers
Michael Guillemette, Ph.D., CFP® michael.guillemette@ttu.edu Risk management, insurance, behavioral finance
Vickie Hampton, Ph.D., CFP® vickie.hampton@ttu.edu Career development and related issues in the financial planning profession, determinants of success on the CFP® Certification Examination, and financial planning guidelines and benchmarks for measuring financial well being of families
Sandra Huston, Ph.D. sandra.huston@ttu.edu Financial Education/Financial Literacy, Investment behavior using the Surveys of Consumer Finances and the National Longitudinal Surveys of Youth.
Russell N. James III, Ph.D., J.D., CFP® russell.james@ttu.edu Charitable giving (inter vivos and testamentary)
Charlene Kalenkoski, Ph.D., CFP® charlene.kalenkoski@ttu.edu The Allocation of Time; Household Decision Making from an Economics Perspective; Education; Retirement
Deena B. Katz, CFP® deena.katz@ttu.edu Experiential Learning, Attitudes and Expectations of Internship experiences, Behavioral Finance practice in a financial planning environment
Donald Lacombe, Ph.D. donald.lacombe@ttu.edu The application of various econometric techniques to research questions in all areas of personal financial planning.
Mitzi K. Lauderdale, J.D., CFP® mitzi.lauderdale@ttu.edu Special Needs Planning, Planned Giving Strategies, Philanthropy, and Estate and Tax Planning Strategies
John Salter, Ph.D., CFP®, AIFA® john.salter@ttu.edu Post-retirement issues and income management, Determinants of success on the CFP® certification examination