Texas Tech University

Affiliated Faculty

Dr. Jacob Baum
Associate Professor, History
jacob.m.baum@gmail.com
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/history/faculty/profiles/baum_jacob.php
Late Medieval and Renaissance Ecclesiastical History, Material culture, History of the Senses

Dr. John Beusterien
Professor, Spanish
john.beusterien@ttu.edu
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern/spanish/Beusterien.php
Sixteenth and Seventeenth Century Spanish Culture and Literature; Early Spanish Southwest United States; Animal Studies; Cultural and Literary Theory

Dr. Julie Nelson Couch
Associate Professor, English
julie.couch@ttu.edu
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/english/general_info/directory/faculty_directory/faculty_profile_pages/couch_detailed.php
Middle English literature and the modern reception of medieval literature

Dr. Stefano D'Amico
Professor, History
stefano.damico@ttu.edu
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/history/faculty/profiles/damico_stefano.php
Renaissance and Reformation, Early Modern Italy, Urban History

Dr. Francesca Di Poppa
Associate Professor, Philosophy; Women's Studies Program
fdipoppa@gmail.com
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/philosophy/people/Faculty.php
Scholastic and Renaissance Influences on Early Modern Thought

Dr. Carole Edwards
Associate Professor, French
carole.edwards@ttu.edu
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern/french/faculty.php#Edwards
North African, Sub-Saharan and Caribbean Francophone literature

Dr. Janis Elliott
Associate Professor, Art
janis.elliott@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/art/About/Faculty/jelliott.php
Art and its patronage in 14th-century Italy, particularly the patronage of churches and family chapels by the Angevin monarchs and the aristocracy in the kingdom of Naples.

Dr. Ryan Hackenbracht
Associate Professor, English
ryan.hackenbracht@ttu.edu
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/english/general_info/directory/faculty_directory/faculty_profile_pages/Hackenbracht_detailed.php
Seventeenth-century English Literature, Apocalyptic Anxieties

Dr. John Howe
Professor, History
john.howe@ttu.edu
http://myweb.ttu.edu/jhowe
Central medieval Latin ecclesiastical and social history, hagiography, medieval Italy

Dr. Matthew Hunter
Assistant Professor, English
matthew.hunter@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/english/general_info/directory/faculty_directory/faculty_profile_pages/hunter_detailed.php
Early modern British literature and drama, especially Shakespeare

Dr. Stacey Jocoy
Associate Professor, Music
stacey.jocoy@ttu.edu
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/music/aboutus/faculty/stacey-jocoy.php
Early modern musics; politics, staged music, and vernacular song, 16th -18th centuries; Shakespearean, Jacobean, and Restoration soundscapes; animation soundtracks, Japanese anime

Dr. David Larmour
Horn Professor, Classics
david.larmour@ttu.edu
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern/classics/people/Larmour.php
Classical Literature and the Classical Tradition

Dr. Brian McFadden
Associate Professor, English
brian.mcfadden@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/english/general_info/directory/faculty_directory/faculty_profile_pages/mcfadden_detailed.php
Old English and Anglo-Latin miracle and marvel texts; monsters; medievalism

Dr. Angela Mariani
Professor, Musicology
angelamariani.smith@ttu.edu
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/music/aboutus/faculty/angela-mariani.php
Medieval music, historical performance, popular and vernacular musics, contemplative education

Dr. Peter Martens
Associate Professor, Music Theory; TCVPA Associate Dean for Faculty, Research, and Creative Activity
peter.martens@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/music/aboutus/faculty/peter-martens.php
music theory, music cognition, the communication/perception of musical rhythm and meter, pre- and early modern music theory

Dr. Sydnor Roy
Assistant Professor, Classics
sydnor.roy@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern/classics/people/Roy.php
history, literature, and politics of 5th century Greece; Herodotus; race and ethnicity in the classical world

Dr. Christopher J. Smith
Professor, Music; Chair of Musicology
christopher.smith@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/music/aboutus/faculty/chris-j-smith.php
Music, performance practice, historical contexts, improvisation, oral/aural vernaculars, dance

Dr. Lane J. Sobehrad
Development Coordinator, LISD
lane.sobehrad@lubbockisd.org
England (10th-13th c.), chronicles, medieval historiography; teaching the Middle Ages.

Dr. Brian Steele
Associate Professor, Art History
brian.steele@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/art/About/Faculty/bsteele.php

Dr. Victoria Surliuga
Associate Professor, Italian
victoria.surliuga@ttu.edu
http://www.victoriasurliuga.com/
Italian Studies, Modern and Contemporary Italian Poetry, Creative Writing, Comparative Literature, Italian Cinema, Modern and Contemporary Italian Art

Dr. Abigail Swingen
Associate Professor, History
abigail.swingen@ttu.edu
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/history/faculty/profiles/swingen_abigail.php
Early modern Britain

Dr. Ashley Voeks
Assistant Professor, French
avoeks@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern/french/Voeks.php
Early modern French literature, culture, and thought; religious violence during the French Wars of Religion; religious toleration throughout the early modern period

Dr. Lucas Wood
Assistant Professor, French
lucas.wood@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern/french/Wood.php
Medieval French literature; Arthurian romance (12th-13th c.); theories, practices, and critiques of love and courtliness.

Dr. Christopher Witmore
Professor, Archaeology and Classics
christopher.witmore@ttu.edu
https://www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern/classics/people/Witmore.php
Archaeological Theory, Chorography, Land and Regions in Archaeology, Thing Theory and Material Culture Studies, Duration, Contemporary Archaeology, Archaeological Practice, the History of Archaeology, Science and Technology Studies, and Digital Humanities