Texas Tech University



The Nano Tech Center was formed in 1999 to in response to growing interest in the science, engineering, and technology of nanoscale materials.

Dr. Henryk Temkin, professor of electrical and computer engineering and Dr. Shubhra Gangopadhyay, professor of physics, were the inaugural co-directors.

From its founding to the present day, the center has emphasized collaborative interdisciplinary research. Current core faculty members come from the Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Physics.

Collaborations within the Texas Tech System have involved colleagues from the Departments of Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Computer Science, and the Departments of Chemical, Industrial, Mechanical, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Research is supported by federal, state, and industrial funding. Center faculty support education in MEMS, Microelectronics Processing, Plasmonics, and Optics.

Nano Tech Center