Texas Tech University

Department of Philosophy

The Texas Tech Philosophy Department, ranked among the top twelve Philosophy MA programs in the nation, is committed to excellence in undergraduate and graduate education, research, and service to the Texas Tech community. Our graduate and upper division classes are small, and students can expect to receive a great deal of individual attention from faculty. Members of the faculty mentor both graduate student teaching and individual research projects, including assisting students in preparing papers for regional conferences or for publication. Since our faculty specializations reflect a wide range of research interests, programs of study can reflect breadth as well as depth. We have particular strengths in Ethics, Aesthetics, and History of Philosophy. Our colloquium series allows students to meet directly with visiting philosophers of national and international renown. In all of this, we are committed to preparing students for the profession of philosophy, as well as for other professions such as law and public service.

News and Announcements:

  • Congratulations to Professor Amy Flowerree who won the Philosophy department's 'Teacher of the Year' Award for 2020-2021.
  • Congratulations to Professor Joel Velasco who has been elected to the Texas Tech University Teaching Academy.
  • Dr. Mark Webb is editing a special issue of Religions. Click here for the call for papers.
  • Congratulations to Professor Amy Flowerree who was awarded a Texas Tech Humanities Center Alumni College fellowship for 2021-22.
  • Congratulations to Professor Justin Tosi who was named co-winner of Heterodox Academy's Exceptional Scholarship Award.
  • Congratulations to Professor Justin Tosi whose book, Grandstanding: The Use and Abuse of Moral Talk, was published by Oxford University Press.
  • Since 2008, members of the Philosophy Department at Texas Tech University have secured $866,152 in grants and external funding.

Support the Department by contributing to our scholarship funds and our excellence fund!

Philosophy Building

Department of Philosophy