Texas Tech University

Posthuman Metamorphosis


Book Description: 

Posthuman Metamorphosis: Narrative and Systems (Fordham University Press, 2008) draws on Bruno Latour, Donna Haraway, Niklas Luhmann, Cary Wolfe, Mieke Bal, Katherine Hayles, Friedrich Kittler, and Lynn Margulis to read narratives of bodily metamorphosis as allegories of the contingencies of systems. Tracing the posthuman intuitions of both pre- and post-cybernetic metamorphs, it demonstrates the viability of second-order systems theories for narrative theory, media theory, cultural science studies, and literary criticism.

Bruce Clarke

Author Bio: 

Bruce Clarke is Paul Whitfield Horn Distinguished Professor of Literature and Science in the Department of English at Texas Tech University, and the 2019 Baruch S. Blumberg NASA Chair in Astrobiology at the Library of Congress. His research focuses on systems theory, narrative theory, and Gaia theory. He was chair of TTU's Department of English (2012-17), and president of the Society for Literature, Science, and the Arts (2007-08). His books include Gaian Systems: Lynn Margulis, Neocybernetics, and the End of the Anthropocene (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2020), Neocybernetics and Narrative (Minnesota 2014), Posthuman Metamorphosis: Narrative and Systems (Fordham 2008), and Energy Forms: Allegory and Science in the Era of Classical Thermodynamics (Michigan 2001). His edited volumes include Posthuman Metamorphosis: The Science Fiction of Joan Slonczewski (Palgrave 2020); The Cambridge Companion to Literature and the Posthuman, with Manuela Rossini (Cambridge 2017); and Earth, Life, and System: Evolution and Ecology on a Gaian Planet (Fordham 2015).