Texas Tech University

Spanish Faculty

Dr. Janet Perez

Paul Whitfield Horn Professor of Spanish, Retired

Ph.D., Duke, 1961

Co-editor of Monographic Review

Areas of Research

Her research involved a second book on Spanish women poets, 1969-2000 and she was preparing her discurso de ingreso for the Academia Norteamericana de la Lengua Española, to be entitled “El exilio español de 1939: Las escritoras.”

Selected Publications

  • The Major Themes of Existentialism in the Works of Ortega y Gasset (1970)
  • Ana María Matute (1971); Miguel Delibes (1972)
  • Novelistas femeninas de la postguerra española [ed.] (1983)
  • Gonzalo Torrente Ballester (1984); Women Writers of Contemporary Spain (1988)
  • Critical Studies on Gonzalo Torrente Ballester [ed. W/Stephen Miller] (1988)
  • The Spanish Civil War in Literature [ed. w/Wendell Aycock] (1990)
  • Dictionary of Literature of the Iberian Peninsula [ed. w/Germán Bleiberg and Maureen Ihrie], 2 vols. (1993)
  • Modern & Contemporary Spanish Women Poets (1996; CD-ROM, 1997)
  • Camilo José Cela Revisited: The Later Novels (2000); and Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature [ed. w/Maureen Ihrie, 2002]
  • Mapping the Fiction of Cristina Fernández Cubas: 12 studies , co-edited with Kathleen Glenn. Newark, DE: University of Delaware Press, 2005
  • The Spanish Civil War in Literature , second edition (edited, with Wendell Aycock). Lubbock: Texas Tech University Press, 2007
  • Mujer, creación, exilio (España 1939-1975), ed., with Mónica Jato and Sharon Keefe Ugalde. Barcelona: Editorial Icaria, 2009
  • She has published more than 250 articles and chapters in books, more than 100 of them on women, more than 300 entries in reference works, and presented more than 220 professional papers and invited lectures.

Awards and Honors

She was a member of Phi Beta Kappa and has received more than 30 research grants and awards; member of the Board of Trustees of the national Spanish honorary, Sigma Delta Pi, 1982-89; Vice President, Twentieth Century Spanish Society of America, 1987-90; Life member of the Modern Language Association; of American Association of Teachers of Spanish & Portuguese [and member, Executive Council, AATSP, 2001-2009; Honorary Life Member of SCMLA. Elected Corresponding Member of the Hispanic Society of America, 1988; was Co-President of The Southwest Council on Latin American Studies, 1991; Vice-President, South Central Modern Language Association (1991) and President of SCMLA, 1992; named Outstanding Researcher of TTU College of Arts & Sciences five years; elected Honorary Fellow, Hispanic Society of America, 1999; elected Miembro Numerario, Academia Norteamericana de la Lengua Española, 2009 and named Corresponding Member, Real Academia de la Lengua Española. 2009.


Dr. Pérez was the founding co-editor of Monographic Review / Revista monográfica , and Editor of Hispania , national journal of AATSP. She was a member of more than 40 additional editorial Boards and edited 100+ volumes in the Spanish section of the Twayne World Authors Series. Her proudest distinction was having directed some 70 dissertations and theses.

Published Works


Janet Perez

CMLL Spanish Program

  • Address

    CMLL Building, 2906 18th St, Lubbock, TX 79409
  • Phone