Texas Tech University

TTU MPA Advisory Board

The TTU MPA Program has an Advisory Board that helps the program evaluate and improve its processes and outcomes. The Advisory Board consists of outstanding leaders from the governmental, nonprofit, healthcare, and environmental fields. Their professional knowledge and expertise are invaluable assets in reviewing the program's mission statement, curriculum, learning outcomes for the core and concentration areas, and public service values. The MPA Advisory Board also connects the program with the larger community as the members serve as important resource contacts for internship and employment opportunities for MPA students as well as alumni. All these activities of the Advisory Board will help us educate and prepare our MPA students to become successful leaders who strive to improve public values in our community.

TTU MPA Advisory Board Members for the 2017/18 and 2018/19 academic years include:

  • Jarret Atkinson, City Manager, City of Lubbock
  • Sharon Bass, Executive Director, Volunteer Center of Lubbock
  • Glenn Cochran, Executive Director, Lubbock Area United Way
  • Calvin Orlando Davis, District Director, Small Business Administration Lubbock District
  • Beth Lawson, Associate CEO, StarCare Specialty Health
  • Dave Lewis, Col., USAF (Retired), Professor of Practice and Director of the Strategic Studies, Department of Political Science, TTU
  • Tim Pierce, Executive Director, SPAG
  • Karen Porter, Co-chair, West Texas Accountability Project-Lubbock Chapter
  • Dr. Dixon Santana, Medical Director of Endovascular Surgery/ Medical Director of Noninvasive Laboratory, UMC