Texas Tech University, Chemical Engineering.
TTU Home Whitacre College of Engineering Chemical Engineering Department News

Alumni News

Your successes are our successes – please keep us informed!
Send us your updated information by completing the Alumni Information Update Form.

Click here for Faculty and Student News


Yongchul Chung
Yongchul Chung
Greg Yongchul Chung (BSChE 2007) joined the faculty of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Pusan National University in March 2016. Yongchul obtained his Ph.D. from Case Western Reserve University in 2013, with a dissertation entitled, “Molecular Simulation Studies of Physical Aging and Mechanical Rejuvenation in Polymer Glasses.” He then did his postdoctoral work at Northwestern University before accepting his current position as an Assistant Professor.
Fred David “Dave” Martin received the Whitacre College of Engineering Distinguished Engineer Award. For almost 20 years he was employed at the Petroleum Recovery Research Center (PRRC), a division of New Mexico Tech in Socorro, New Mexico and served as director of PRRC from 1987-1996. He has also served the State of New Mexico, as Cabinet Secretary of the Environment Department from 2011 - 2013, and since 2013, as Secretary of the Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources Department. Dave has 16 patents and over 60 technical publications. One of his important contributions has been the development and implementation of the Gas and Oil Technology Exchange and Communication Highway (GO-TECH), the first Website developed for the petroleum industry.


Rene Hatten Wade (1983 B.S.Ch.E.) was honored in April as a Whitacre College of Engineering Distinguished Engineer (DE).  As vice president for Product Quality at Mary Kay, Inc., Wade oversees global quality for the company including for multiple manufacturing sites and the distribution network.  She is dedicated to excellence and recognized for her selfless professional and community service. 


Jeff Morris
Jeff Morris (1974 B.S.Ch.E.) vice chairman of Alon USA, and a Whitacre College of Engineering Distinguished Engineer, has been named the 2014 Dream Achiever by Communities In Schools of the Dallas Region (CISDR). The Communities in Schools program has built a successful legacy and has an extensive record of exceptional outcomes. Morris has contributed significantly to this mission, serving on the board of directors for the past 12 years and establishing the CISDR Endowment in 2002 with a $1,000,000 gift from Alon, while serving as the president and CEO.
Ken Baker
Ken Baker (1965 B.S.Ch.E.) has been named a Distinguished Engineer by the Texas Tech Whitacre College of Engineering. Baker founded Baker and O'Brien, Inc., with the vision of developing a firm that would be known for holding to the highest of professional standards. In 1982, Baker received the Outstanding Engineer Award from the Dallas Chapter of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), and in 2013, Baker and O'Brien received recognition from the U.S. Congress for twenty years of outstanding service. This award was accepted postmortem by Ken Baker's wife, Cara Lynette Baker.


Jack McCavit (1970 B.S.Ch.E.) has been named a Distinguished Engineer by the Texas Tech Whitacre College of Engineering. McCavit is a fellow of AIChE and a fellow of the Center for Chemical Process Safety (CCPS). He was employed with Celanese for 35 years before starting his own consulting firm, J. L. McCavit Consulting, LLC, in 2005.