Texas Tech University
Department of Chemistry & BiochemistryDepartment of Chemistry & BiochemistryDepartment of Chemistry & BiochemistryDepartment of Chemistry & BiochemistryDepartment of Chemistry & BiochemistryDepartment of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Upcoming Events

No events scheduled for the week


Departmental News

Prof. Bill Poirier Awarded Fellowship from the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Poirier
Prof. Bill Poirier has been awarded a Distinguished Guest Scientist Fellowship from the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. The program is intended to bring "internationally acclaimed foreign researchers as Visiting Fellows to conduct top-level research in Hungary". Only a very limited number of fellowships are offered by the Hungarian government each year, + More

Learn More

Prof. Bill Poirier elected to the TTU Teaching Academy

Dr. Poirier
Prof. Bill Poirier has been elected to membership in the TTU Teaching Academy, to be inducted during a formal ceremony in September. Since its inception in 1997, the Teaching Academy has recognized faculty for their demonstrated dedication to excellence in teaching, + More

Learn More

Dr. Gamez awarded grant from National Science Foundation

Dr. Gamez
Prof. Gerardo Gamez has been awarded a grant from the Chemical Measurement and Imaging program at the National Science Foundation (NSF) Division of Chemistry. The 3 year grant of $381,127 will allow the development of an ultra-high throughput surface elemental mapping technique based on glow discharge optical emission spectroscopy.

Learn More

New Director named for Center for Biotechnology & Genomics

Professor Yehia Mechref has been named the new director of the Texas Tech University Center for Biotechnology & Genomics (CBG). The center capitalizes on the biotechnology and genomic research at the university and it serves the needs of related interdisciplinary and disciplinary research partnerships.

Learn More

Dr. Poirier and Dr. Findlater awarded renewal grants from the Welch Foundation

Dr. Poirier & Dr. Findlater
Prof. Bill Poirier was awarded $240,000 to support his continued research on a project entitled: "New Methodologies for Accurate Quantum Calculations of the Dynamics of Atomic Nuclei," that will run from June 1, 2016 to May 31, 2019; Prof. Michael Findlater was awarded $195,000 to support his continued research on a project entitled: "Base Metal-Catalyzed Transformations," that will run from June 1, 2016 to May 31, 2019.

Student Highlights

Austin Privett awarded 2016 Song Prize for best departmental Ph.D. dissertation

Austin Privett was awarded the 2016 Song Prize for his Ph.D. dissertation entitled: Electron Nuclear Dynamics: Resolution of Electronic States, Extension to Direct Ionization, and the Irradiation of Biomolecules in Proton Cancer Therapy. His graduate studies were conducted under the direction of Prof. Jorge Morales.

Learn More

Belinda Pacheco awarded NSF Graduate Fellowship

Chemistry major Belinda Pacheco has been awarded an NSF (National Science Foundation) Graduate Fellowship to pursue a PhD in Materials Chemistry at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. As part of her undergraduate studies, Belinda performed research in the lab of Prof. Hope-Weeks. She also worked for Los Alamos National Laboratory, + More

Welch Summer Scholar wins Science and Engineering Fair of Houston, invited to present at international competition

Kanchana Raja, of St. John's School in Houston, TX, won the 1st place Grand Award at the 57th Annual Science and Engineering Fair of Houston for her project entitled: "A Novel Protocol for Protein Purification and a Conformational Study of T. maritima Rad50 Zn-hook via Heteronuclear Quantum Coherence Spectrometry." This project was undertaken in + More

Olga Peregrino awarded full travel grant to ASPB annual meeting

Olga Peregrino, a Chemical Biology Master's Student in the lab of Dr. D'Auria, has been awarded an all-expenses-paid travel grant to attend the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) meeting in Austin, Texas this summer. Plant Biology 2016 is an international meeting that will + More

Learn More

Graduate student visitation weekend, April 1-2, 2016

VisitationThe Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry hosted invited student visitors from Tennessee, Kentucky, West Virginia, Kansas, South Korea, Bangladesh, India and Texas. The focus of the visitation weekend was to showcase our graduate teaching and research programs to potential and incoming graduate students.


Click for more departmental news


Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry