COMC Academic Advising Center

Media & Communication Advising Staff

Advising staff from left: Marijane Wernsman,
Debra Sanderson, Ryan Johnson, Donald Ellis,
Rose Cruz, and Ashton Ray.

The Advising Office at The College of Media & Communication is dedicated to providing students with the answers necessary for completion of their degree plan. Prospective undergraduate students should contact the advising office for information on enrolling in the college. Current students should check with the advising office each semester for information on advising sessions and requirements for graduation.

Advising staff are available Monday - Friday from 8 a.m. - Noon and
1 p.m. - 5 p.m.


Contact Advising:

  • Phone: 806-834-5897
  • Office: COMC 169


Advising Information

Advising checklists for each major may be reviewed through the following links:

Advertising (ADV)

Electronic Media & Communications (EMC)

Journalism

Public Relations (PR)

Media Strategies

Minors for non-Media & Communication students

Intent to Graduate


Instructions for submitting checksheets online:
  • Our office requires students to be advised each semester before being allowed to register for the following semester.
  • Included with each advising checklist are Summer/Fall and Spring course request forms. Students only need to complete the page for the semester which they will be registering for.
  • You may preview your tentative schedule with the online schedule builder.
  • Learn how to use the new Visual Schedule Builder
  • Please use your Raider ID number instead of a Social Security Number.
  • Save your completed form as “lastname.firstname.pdf” (smith.john.pdf).
  • Attach your checksheet in an email to the advisor for your major.
  • Learn how to run a degree audit

Note: You must have Adobe PDF Professional to fill out and submit the PDF Checklist via email.


Paperwork is divided by major between the following advisors:

Dr. Marijane Wernsman
Marijane.wernsman@ttu.edu
  • Athletes
  • Dual Degree
  • Honors
  • Second Undergrad
Debra Sanderson
debra.sanderson@ttu.edu
  • Advertising


Ryan Johnson
ryan.p.johnson@ttu.edu
  • Journalism
Ashton Ray
ashton.ray@ttu.edu
  • Public Relations
Donald Ellis
donald.ellis@ttu.edu
  • Electronic Media & Communications


Rose Cruz
rose.cruz@ttu.edu
  • Media Strategies