Texas Tech University

2018 Departmental News

  • Kamal Lamichhane awarded 2018 LPC (LHC Physics Center) Graduate Scholars Fellowship Learn More
  • The TTU Chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) was named as an Outstanding SPS Chapter for the 2016-2017 academic year
  • Prof. Thacker has been selected as Texas Tech Integrated Scholar for 2018 Learn More
  • Michael Holcomb was awarded TTU Doctoral Dissertation Completion Fellowship. Michael is working with Dr. Blawzdziewicz on biophysics.
  • Madeline Lockhart (sophomore) wins prestigious Goldwater scholarship, an award designed to encourage research careers in science, engineering and math Texas Tech Today, A&S News
  • Profs. Lee and Grave De Peralta have been promoted to the rank of Full Professor, effective Sep 1st, 2018 Learn More
  • Prof. Corsi has been promoted to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure, effective Sep 1st, 2018 Learn More
  • Prof. Maccarone was awarded the 2018 President's Excellence in Research Professorship Learn More
  • [2018/08] Three new faculty join the TTU Physics & Astronomy in fall 2018. Profs. Romano, Scaringi, and Whitbeck, welcome to the department!
  • [2018/08] Our congratulations to Prof. Akchurin on being appointed college's new associate dean of research Learn More
  • [2018/08] Prof. Lee appointed Interim Chair of the Department of Physics & Astronomy Learn More
  • [2018/09] Astrophysicist Involved in First Detection Using Both Gravitational Waves and Electromagnetic Waves Learn More
  • [2018/09] Graduate Student Sueli Skinner-Ramos was awarded the NSF Non-Academic Research Internship for Graduate Student ($44K). Sueli will spend next 3 months at Sandia Nat'al Lab to perform her Ph.D. research. Congrats, Sueli.
  • [2018/11] Prof. Lee appointed Chair of the Department of Physics & Astronomy
  • [2018/12] Dr. Maccarone, has been highlighted in the Texas Tech Today, concerning his recent study on the Supersoft X-ray emission and his work has been just published in the Nature Astronomy.
  • Physics & Astronomy Researchers Observed Mysterious Behavior of 'The Cow' Learn More, CNN, Science.



Department of Physics and Astronomy