Texas Tech University.

Faculty Development Leave Committee


The Faculty Development Committee shall receive from department chairpersons through the deans applications by faculty members for faculty development leaves.  The committee shall review these applications and make recommendations to the provost, pursuant to published criteria for selection and announcement availability of such leaves.  The committee shall review criteria for selection and the extent of availability of leaves and make appropriate recommendations.

The committee shall also study and make recommendations for other programs for faculty development.


Members are elected for three-year terms by the general faculty of their respective colleges and schools and by members of the administration eligible for development assignments. The composition and selection of this committee are governed by statute. Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated (Education Code. Volume II, Section 51.103).

Operating Procedures:

The committee shall develop its own operating procedures subject to approval by the provost. Copies of any minutes or reports are to be provided to the provost, to the Faculty Senate, and to the University Library. The chairperson may be invited to visit the Faculty Senate to inform its members of the activities of the committee during the year.


The committee shall elect its chairperson annually from the faculty members who are in their final year or term of service.

Name College/Department Term Began Term Ends
Adams, Gretchen College of Arts and Sciences 2012 2015
Boal, Kim Rawls College of Business Administration 2013 2016
Camp, Bryan School of Law 2011 2014
Durband, Dorothy College of Human Sciences 2011 2014
Edgar, Lynne Library 2013 2016
Hill, Glen College of Architecture 2011 2014
Karp, Tanja Whitacre College of Engineering 2012 2015
Kolosov, Jacqueline College of Arts and Sciences 2012 2015
Lawver, David College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources 2011 2014
Myers, Susan College of Education 2011 2014
Qualin, Anthony College of Arts and Sciences 2013 2016
Reddick, Randy College of Media and Communication 2011 2014
Rogers, Lisa College of Visual and Performing Arts 2012 2015
Sari-Saref, Hamad College of Engineering 2011 2014
Todd, Reese College of Education 2011 2014
Stewart, Rob Office of the Provost Ex-officio  

Membership Code:

  1. At least sixteen members, divided between the Colleges, the Law School, and the administration, with at least one member representing each division.