Texas Tech University

Meet the Chair

Yong ChenYong Chen is an interim chair of the Department of Computer Science (CS) and a professor of computer science. As the interim chair, he oversees the department of 18 faculty members and approximately 635 undergraduate and 565 graduate students, as well as four-degree programs, one certificate program, several research labs and facilities that contribute to annual research and operational spending. 

Dr. Chen is also the founding Director of the Data-Intensive Scalable Computing Laboratory in the department and the Co-Director of the NSF-IUCRC (Industry-University Cooperative Research Centers) Cloud and Autonomic Computing Center. He joined Texas Tech in 2011 as an assistant professor and was promoted to associate professor in 2017 and full professor in 2022. Dr. Chen received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Illinois Institute of Technology, a M.S. in Computer Science and a B.E. in Computer Engineering from University of Science and Technology of China.

Yong Chen, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Interim Chair

Email: yong.chen@ttu.edu

Phone: 806.834.0284

Fax: 806.742.3519

Office: EC 102B

Department of Computer Science