Texas Tech University

Celebrate Diversity Awards Banquet: Scholarship Fundraiser


Each fall, the Office of Institutional Diversity hosts the Celebrate Diversity Awards Banquet to generate scholarship funds for deserving students, while also recognizing those within the Texas Tech and Lubbock communities who exemplify Inclusive Excellence. Additionally, the recipient(s) of the Senator Robert L. Duncan Community Champion Award are recognized.

The 2021 Celebrate Diversity Awards Banquet will be held on Thursday, November 18th. The speaker will be author and Emmy Award winning journalist, Elizabeth Vargas.   

Dr. Margaret L. Williams, Dean of the Jerry S. Rawls College of Business Administration and Dr. Fernando Valle, Professor and Interim Chair of the Department of Special Education in the Texas Tech College of Education will be recognized as recipients of The Inclusive Excellence Award. The Senator Robert L. Duncan Community Champion Award recipient will be Mr. Eddie McBride, retiring CEO/President of the Lubbock Chamber of Commerce.

Click here for tickets, tables, and sponsorship information. 

Past speakers for the event include James Edward Olmos, Terrence Howard, Soledad O'Brien, John Quiñones, Juan Felipe Herrera, Grace Gealey, Dr. Michael Benitez, Ana Navarro, Cyntoia Brown-Long, and Dr. Melissa Harris-Perry.

Award Recipients

Senator Robert L. Duncan Community Champion Award

2006 Senator Robert L. Duncan
2007 Linda DeLeon
2008 Learn, Inc.
2009 100 Black Men of West Texas
Peggy A. Duran-Klenclo
2010 Eric Strong
2011 Carolina Ysasaga
2012 David Seim
2013 Quincy White
2014 Bart Reagor
2015 Marciano & Martha Morales
2016 Adrienne Cozart
2017 Christy Martinez-Garcia
2018 TJ Patterson
2019 Ms. Glenda Mathis
2021 Dr. Damon H. Hill, Jr.

Inclusive Excellence Award Recipients

2009 Kelly Overley
Dr. Juan S. Muñoz
2011 Rene Davis
Calvin Davis
Dr. Lawrence Schovanec
2012 Grace Hernandez
Yuan Shu
2013 Dr. Aliza Wong
Eric Strong
2014 Kirby Hocutt
Cathy Pope
Becky Wilson
2015 Kent Meredith
Chris Snead

Janie Landin Ramirez
Tom Vermillion

2017 Jodie Billingsley
Dr. Wendy Ross
Dr. Gary Elbow
2018 Dr. Judi Henry
Dr. Scott Ridley
2019 Ms. Jody Randall
Dr. Robert Stewart
2021 Dr. Kirsten A. Cook
Dr. Angela Lumpkin

For more information regarding the Celebrate Diversity Awards, please email diversity@ttu.edu or call 806-742-7025.