Texas Tech University


First-Year Student Scholarships

Texas Tech Law awards merit-based scholarships to incoming students. The law school uses the same factors considered in evaluating the applicant for admissions. All admitted students are automatically considered for any scholarship funds for which they are eligible.

Scholarship recipients are typically notified of their awards at the time of acceptance or shortly thereafter, but awards are made on a rolling basis and notification could come at any time prior to enrollment.

Advanced Student Scholarships

These scholarships are available to students in their second or third year of law school and are awarded on the basis of academic performance and financial need. To apply for scholarships, please visit scholarship.app.texastech.edu. The application is open from October 1 to February 1.

ABA Standard 509 Scholarship Retention Information

The American Bar Association requires all law schools that offer renewable scholarships that are conditioned upon maintaining a minimum grade point average or class standing other than what is required to remain in good standing to disclose the retention rate of those scholarships. The table below does not include scholarships that required merely good standing for renewal.

  First-Year Class Size Total Number Receiving Scholarship Entering with Conditional Scholarships* Whose Conditional Scholarships Have Since Been Reduced or Eliminated
2016 160 65 32 11
2015 182 100 67 20
2014 228 208 110 45

*For the 2017 entering class, please refer to your scholarship award letter for any retention conditions that apply to your scholarship. For the 2016 entering class, all scholarships of more than $5,000 require recipients to rank in the top 50% of their class to qualify for full renewal, and the retention information is as of June 21, 2017. The official retention will be reported to and confirmed by the ABA at a later date. For the 2015 entering class, all scholarships of more than $5,000 required recipients to rank in the top 50% of their class to qualify for renewal. For the 2014 entering class, all scholarships of $10,000 or more required recipients to rank in the top 50% of their class.