IHIC Affiliated Faculty

Todd Chambers

Todd Chambers, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Journalism & Electronic Media
Research Interests:Media management and economics, the use of Spanish-language media, adoption of communication technology and health communication.
E-mail: todd.chambers@ttu.edu

Liz Gardner

Liz Gardner, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Public Relations
Research Interests: Health message design, particularly to address health disparities and underserved populations; resistance to persuasion; health literacy; strategic communication campaigns
Email: liz.gardner@ttu.edu

Lea Hellmueller, Ph.D.

Lea Hellmueller, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Journalism & Electronic Media
Research Interests: Comparative research, involving Western and non-Western countries (25 countries). To expand the scope of journalism research by including the dimension of news practice into the study of journalism culture. Investigating journalistic role performance cross-nationally and considers the influence that different media systems, organizational constraints, and journalists’ role conceptions have on the practice of journalism.
Email: lea.hellmueller@ttu.edu

Sun-Young Lee

Sun-Young Lee, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Public Relations
Research Interests: Corporate social responsibility, crisis communication, integrated marketing communication, media relations, corporate reputation management, agenda-building theory, agenda-setting theory
Email: sun.lee@ttu.edu

Yunjuan Luo

Yunjuan Luo, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Journalism & Electronic Media
Research Interests: Political communication; international communication; social and political impact of new media; communication theory, particularly agenda-setting theory.
Email: yunjuan.luo@ttu.edu

Rebecca Ortiz

Rebecca Ortiz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Advertising
Research Interests: Health communication formative research and campaign evaluation, entertainment media effects, narrative persuasion
E-mail: rebecca.r.ortiz@ttu.edu

Robert Moses Peaslee

Robert Moses Peaslee, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Journalism & Electronic Media
Campus Coordinator, Global Film Initiative “Global Lens” Film Series
Research Interests: Fandom and identity, international mass communication, critical approaches to media culture, film production and criticism.
E-mail: robert.peaslee@ttu.edu

Eric Rasmussen

Eric Rasmussen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Public Relations
Research Interests: Children and media, parental mediation, media effects, persuasion, media literacy
E-mail: eric.rasmussen@ttu.edu

Autumn Shafer

Autumn Shafer, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Public Relations
Research Interests: Design and evaluation of theory-based health communication campaigns; narrative persuasion; mass media effects on health-related attitudes and behaviors.
E-mail: autumn.shafer@ttu.edu

Kent Wilkinson

Kenton T. Wilkinson, Ph.D.

Institute Director
Thomas Jay Harris Regents Professor in Hispanic and International Communication
Research Interests: Hispanic-oriented media in the U.S., international communication, influences of culture and language in cross-cultural and health communication.
E-mail: kent.wilkinson@ttu.edu

Weiwu Zhang

Weiwu Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate professor, Department of Public Relations
Assistant Director of Graduate Studies
Research Interests: Role of media use, strategic communication, and interpersonal communication in social capital and civic engagement in Europe and the United States; social media in public relations and politics; political public relations.
E-mail: weiwu.zhang@ttu.edu