Texas Tech University

Research Associates

Research Associates of the NSRL are "professionals, who may or may not be employees of Texas Tech University, who are associated in a professional manner with the collections and/or the personnel of the NSRL." They are appointed by the Executive Director of the Museum to serve 5-year terms (renewable). The appointment is honorary and there is no financial remuneration for the appointment. The responsibilities of a Research Associate include carrying out field and laboratory research and scholarly activities in association with the professional staff of the NSRL, and promoting the NSRL through the production of collections-based research and scholarly activities. The students of Research Associates often utilize the resources of the NSRL to complete the requirements for their graduate degrees. Since 1970 the collaborative relationships between the NSRL and the Research Associates have been profitable for Texas Tech University, the Museum of Texas Tech University, and the science of mammalogy.

2021-2025 Research Associates at Texas Tech University:

James C. Cokendolpher - Museum (retired)

Warren Conway - Natural Resources Management

Llewellyn D. Densmore - Biological Sciences

Blake Grisham - Natural Resources Management

Dan Hardy - Cell Biology and Biochemistry, Health Sciences Center

Tigga Kingston - Biological Sciences

Scott Longing - Plant and Soil Science

Joseph Manthey - Biological Sciences

Carl Phillips - Biological Sciences (retired)

David Ray - Biological Sciences

Jorge Salazar-Bravo - Biological Sciences

John Zak - Biological Sciences


2021-2025 Research Associates at other institutions:

Brian R. Amman - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Loren K. Ammerman - Angelo State University

John W. Bickham - Texas A&M University (emeritus)

Joel G. Brant - McMurry University

Janet K. Braun - Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, University of Oklahoma

Daniel M. Brooks - Houston Museum of Natural Science

James J. Bull - University of Idaho

Santiago Burneo - Pontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador

Darin S. Carroll - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Serena A. Carroll - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Dilford Carter - Texas Tech University (retired)

Gerardo Ceballos González - Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Krysta Demere - Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Robert C. Dowler - Angelo State University (retired)

Jerry W. Dragoo - New Mexico Department of Agriculture

Cody W. Edwards - George Mason University

Scott V. Edwards - Harvard University

Mark D. Engstrom - Royal Ontario Museum

David Etheredge - South Plains College

Adam W. Ferguson - The Field Museum

Hugh H. Genoways - University of Nebraska State Museum (emeritus)

Jim R. Goetze - Laredo Community College (retired)

Luis González Montaña - Universidad Nacional de Colombia in Bogotá

Meredith J. Hamilton - Oklahoma State University

John Delton Hanson - Blackhawk Genomics

Federico G. Hoffmann - Mississippi State University

Rodney L. Honeycutt - Pepperdine University (emeritus)

Steven Hoofer - Sedgwick County Regional Forensic Science Center

Frederick J. Jannett Jr. - University of Minnesota

Mariko Kageyama - Law practice, Seattle, Washington

Gary G. Kwiecinski - University of Scranton

Peter A. Larsen - University of Minnesota

Roxanne J. Larsen - University of Minnesota

Tom Lee - Abilene Christian University

David (Chip) Leslie - Oklahoma State University

Celia López-González - Instituto Politécnico Nacional, Mexico

Kateryna Makova - Penn State University

Michael A. Mares - Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, University of Oklahoma

Richard W. Manning - Texas State University (retired)

Marjorie Matocq - University of Nevada, Reno

Matthew R. Mauldin - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Molly M. McDonough - Chicago State University and Field Museum of Natural History

Liam McGuire - University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Suzanne B. McLaren - Carnegie Museum of Natural History

Rodrigo Medellín - Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Mary Lou Milazzo - University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (retired)

Anton Nekrutenko - Penn State University

Nicté Ordóñez-Garza - Quito, Ecuador

Bruce Patterson - The Field Museum

John C. Patton - Purdue University (retired)

James L. Patton - University of California, Berkeley, Museum of Vertebrate Zoology (emeritus)

Scott Pedersen - South Dakota State University

Russell S. Pfau - Tarleton State University

Ron Pine - University of Kansas

Richard Pitts - North Dallas High School (retired)

Roy Neal Platt II - Texas Biomedical Research Institute

Calvin A. Porter - Xavier University of Louisiana

Marcia A. Revelez - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

David J. Schmidly - University of New Mexico (emeritus)

Ashley Schmitz - Corpus Christi Museum of Science and History

Frederick B. Stangl Jr. - Midwestern State University (emeritus)

Philip D. Sudman - Tarleton State University

Cody Thompson - University of Michigan, Museum of Zoology

Robert M. Timm - University of Kansas

Ronald Van Den Bussche - Oklahoma State University

Robert S. Voss - American Museum of Natural History

Holly A. Wichman - University of Idaho

Jeffrey K. Wickliffe - Tulane University

Don E. Wilson - Smithsonian Institution

Emily A. Wright - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Franklin D. Yancey III - Oakhurst Community College Center, Madera College


Natural Science Research Laboratory