Texas Tech University


Chair's Message

October 2017:

Dear Alumni & Friends of the ECE Department

The Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE) Department continues to be a vibrant community of scholars that excel in research as well as in the classroom. The department has one of the most active research programs at Texas Tech University. In the last year, Dr. Miao He, one of our Assistant Professors in the area of Power Systems received an NSF CAREER award entitled "Risk-Aware Power System Operations with Significant Wind Power Penetration". Seven ECE professors are members of the Texas Tech Teaching Academy delivering outstanding education from the freshmen to the Graduate student level. Recent successful comprehensive reviews of the graduate program under the guidelines of THECB and the undergraduate program under the guidelines of ABET ensure continued excellence at all levels.


Recent additions to the faculty are expanding the research in our world-class Nanophotonics center. Dr. Rui He joined at the Associate professor level and is an expert in Raman spectroscopy of materials with a recent NSF CAREER award. Her work is complemented by Dr. Sangsik Kim, who is an expert in frequency Combs and Nonlinear Optics. The center led by Horn professors Hongxing Jiang and Jingyu Lin, who recently received a $3 million 5-year grant with a 3-year base effort plus 2-year option from the High Energy Laser-Joint Technology Office within the Department of Defense. We currently have 2 faculty searches in the area of Pulsed Power and Biomedical Engineering.

We are proud that our graduates are highly desirable for recruiters and go on to join large groups of Alumni at leading technology companies such as Texas Instruments, National Instruments, Oncor etc. Thank for your interest in our ECE Department. You are always welcome here, and I would enjoy a call or a personal visit.

Dr. Michael Giesselmann, P.E.
Professor & Department Chair
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Phone: 806-742-3533