Faculty News 


October 4, 2017
By: George Watson

Changzhi Li's "cardiac password" project will examine using the wave of the heart motion as an added method of continuous authentication.

ChangzhiOne of the unique features for the upcoming iPhone X is facial recognition security, where users can simply unlock their phones by holding it up to their face and allowing the phone's security measures to identify the correct user.

It's just the evolution of security for phones and, in general, for technology that holds sensitive or confidential material. From a passcode or password to thumbprint recognition to retina scans, experts have developed some of the most intricate means of cybersecurity authentication.

However, it seems just as soon as new means of authentication are developed and put into use, hackers find a way around them, from hacking passwords to faking fingerprints to fool biometric security systems. As soon as one wall is erected, someone else blows it up.
Read more



June 7, 2017
By: George Watson

The award is for Shelby Lacouture's work developing the technology for an imaging system for electric currents and magnetic fields.

ShelbyTo measure the magnitude of the flow of an electric current, the connection of the current must be broken to insert an ammeter. It is a process that can be time consuming.

But Shelby Lacouture, a researcher at Texas Tech University, may have come up with a solution that would allow for the construction of an image of an electric current similar to how thermal imaging works. It could result in very broad applications across numerous sciences, such as examining the current flow in circuit boards, wiring or large semiconductor devices.

So applicable is the technology and the innovation from it that Lacouture has been recognized with one of the top innovation awards in the country.

Lacouture, a senior research associate in the Center for Pulsed Power and Power Electronics research center within the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas Tech, earned the 2017 National Innovation Award for his work, "Electric Current and Magnetic Field Imaging System."
Read more

JaingProfessor Hongxing Jiang is elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) 

"For contributions to the fundamental understanding of nitride semiconductors and the development of novel nitride photonic devices for sensing, display, and solid-state lighting applications."


LinProfessor Jingyu Lin is elected Fellow of the SPIE (the internal society for optics and photonics)

"For achievements in photonic devices and development of III-nitride semiconductor materials."

LieProfessor Donald Lie is elected 2017 Fellow of the IEEE

"For contributions to high linearity and high efficiency silicon RF power amplifiers for broadband wireless applications."

HeProfessor Miao He won a NSF CAREER Award

"Risk-Aware Power System Operations with Significant Wind Power Penetration"



HeWelcome Dr. Rui He to ECE 

NSF CAREER Award: "Raman Spectroscopy of Interlayer Phonons in van der Waals Heterostructures," 2016-2021
National Science Foundation, $517,923 (Award No. DMR-155248


KimWelcome Sangsik Kim to ECE

Nature Communications 8, Article number: 372 (2017)

Dispersion engineering and frequency comb generation in thin silicon nitride concentric microresonators