Texas Tech University

2022-2023 Human Sciences Faculty and Staff Award Winners Commemorated

Samantha Salazar

August 25, 2022

College of Human Sciences Texas Tech Welcome Event

Award nominees, recipients, and new employees were celebrated at the annual fall welcome event for Human Sciences faculty and staff.

The College of Human Sciences welcomed its new faculty and staff and celebrated award recipients and nominees at the annual fall welcome reception. This year's welcome reception was hosted and catered by Skyviews Restaurant. Dean Tim Dodd, Ph.D. rang in the event by inviting department chairs to introduce their new faculty and staff. Following the remarks, attendees mingled over heavy hors d'oeuvres. 

Congratulations to our College of Human Sciences award nominees and recipients.

Faculty and staff at awards event

Faculty Award Recipients

2022-23 Excellence in Teaching Award Recipient

  • Jennifer Wilson, MS, AFC®

2022-23 COHS Faculty Award for Commitment to Outreach and Engagement Recipient

  • Elizabeth Trejos-Castillo, Ph.D. 

2022-23 COHS Wolfe International Scholars Award Recipient

  • Natalia Velikova, Ph.D. 

2021-22 President's Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Stephanie Shine, Ph.D. 

2021-22 President's Academic Achievement Award

  • Elizabeth Trejos-Castillo, Ph.D. 

2021-22 President's Excellence in Commercialization Award 

  • Nikhil Dhurnadhar, Ph.D. 

2021-22 Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Facility Distinguished Research Award

  • Ann Mastergeorge, Ph.D. 

2021- 22 Texas Tech Alumni Association New Faculty Award

  • Christy Rogers, Ph.D. 

2022-23 Burleson Faculty Service Award

  • Shane Blum, Ph.D. 

2022 Integrated Scholar 

  • Sylvia Niehuis, Ph.D. 

Staff Award Recipients

2021-22 College of Human Sciences Commitment Award 

  • Amber Hunter, HRM
  • Lori Minner, CFAS
  • Erin Sopronyi, DOD

2021-22 Kathryn Burleson Staff Service Award

  • Sherry Alheyari, CEHS
  • Billy Tiongco, SS