College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
TTU Home CASNR Home NewsCenter Home

CASNR News Center

Pig Roast: CASNR presents ‘Outstanding Agriculturalist’ awards at Civic Center

Pig Roast: CASNR presents ‘Outstanding Agriculturalist’ awards at Civic Center

Texas Tech’s College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources will honor three Texas residents with Gerald W. Thomas Outstanding Agriculturalist Awards on Thursday (Nov. 14) during its annual Pig Roast at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center Banquet Hall. The Pig Roast also celebrates scholarship donors, recipients and intercollegiate judging teams.

The annual outstanding agriculturalist awards recognize individuals for contributions to various areas of Texas agriculture. This year’s recipients are Pierce Miller of San Angelo for agricultural production, Terry Crofoot of Lubbock for public service, and Jim Prewitt of Flower Mound for agribusiness.


  • Pierce MillerAgricultural Production. The fourth generation Texas rancher served at the Fort Worth National Bank the San Angelo National Bank. He was the Chairman of the Board of Directors, CEO and President of San Angelo National Bank/Texas Commerce Bank-San Angelo until 1981, when he returned to manage his family’s ranching and oil and gas business. Awards for Miller include San Angelo Citizen of the Year (2000); Texas County Agricultural Extension Agents Association ‘Man of the Year in Texas Agriculture-District 7’ (2013); and Texas A&M AgriLife Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award (2013). He received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Texas-Austin.


  • Terry CrofootPublic Service. The Kansas native is currently the vice president of Crofoot Cattle Company, a Lubbock-based and family-owned cattle ranching, real estate and quarter horse business. Since 2011, he has served as the co-chairman of the Texas Tech Equestrian Center Programs Advisory Board, a council consisting of 50 members devoted to advancing and promoting the university’s equestrian programs. He’s also serves as chairman of the Equine Sciences Advisory Committee at Colorado State. Awards for Crofoot include a Volunteer Service Award from the National Agricultural Alumni and Development Association (2013). He received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Kansas State University.


  • Jim PrewittAgribusiness. The Kirbyville native is the founder, President and CEO of Coppell-based Landmark Nurseries. Over time, Landmark Nurseries has grown into one of the largest wholesale growers and distributors in of the state of Texas, with five locations – Dallas, Ft. Worth, Round Rock, San Antonio, and Houston. In addition to these locations, they operate four growing facilities across the state – Edgewood, Grand Saline, Kirbyville and Round Rock. He serves on CASNR’s Advisory Board, Happy Hill Farm Board of Directors, Texas A&M’s College of Agriculture Development Council, State Fair of Texas Board, Texas Nursery & Landscape Association and the Texas Water Smart Steering Committee.

The outstanding agriculturalist awards, established in 1969, are named for Gerald W. Thomas, who served as dean of Tech’s College of Agricultural Sciences from 1958 to 1970.

Written by Norman Martin

CONTACT: Jane Piercy, Director of Development and External Relations, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, Texas Tech University at (806)742-2802 or

1114NM13 / PHOTOS: (top to bottom) Pierce Miller, Terry Crofoot and Jim Prewitt


Find something wrong on this page? Help us fix it! Report an error.