College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
TTU Home CASNR Home NewsCenter Home

CASNR News Center

Agricultural chemical institute presents 4 scholarships

Four students from Texas Tech University’s Department of Plant and Soil Sciences have been awarded $4,500 in scholarships from the West Texas Agricultural Chemical Institute.

They are:
•         Jamie Ayers, a master’s student from El Paso.
•         Michael Krawitzki, a master’s student from Niskayuna, NY.
•         Cory Mills, a doctoral student in agronomy from Glenns Ferry, ID.
•         Matt Schwertner, second year master’s student from Farwell.

Officials said the 2007 scholarship recipients were chosen by a scholarship committee appointed by the West Texas Agricultural Chemical Institute’s Board of Directors and are selected on the basis of grade point average, career goals, area of degree and financial need.

Since 1983, the organization has awarded scholarships to students majoring in the agriculture field attending six universities in Texas. They are Texas Tech, Abilene Christian, Angelo State, Lubbock Christian, Sul Ross State and West Texas A&M. In addition, the institute makes contributions to the WTACI Endowment Fund and to the A. W. Young Scholarship Fund established at Texas Tech University.

– Written by Brittni Drennan


Find something wrong on this page? Help us fix it! Report an error.