Texas Tech University

Dave and Joan Hopper Endowed Scholarship

Dave Hopper

The Dave and Joan Hopper Scholarship Endowment was established by Mr. and Mrs. Dave Hopper in 1999. The scholarship is awarded to undergraduate students of all classifications with a minimum 3.0 GPA, majoring in the Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics.

Dave Hopper earned a bachelor's degree in Agricultural Economics from Texas Tech in 1955 and a Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Education in 1957. He was a member of the Texas Tech National Intercollegiate Championship Rodeo Team in 1955 and was the 1957 National Intercollegiate Bareback Riding Champion. For 14 years, Mr. Hopper traveled the rodeo circuit as a professional rodeo cowboy. In 1967, he began working as a mill manager for Easley Feedyard in Hereford. After two years he moved to Fort Worth to become a buyer and sales representative for the Vann-Roach Cattle Company. He soon moved back to Hereford where he would be the President and Partner of Champion Feeders for more than 30 years.

Mr. Hopper served on the Board of Directors for the Texas Cattle Feeders Association and the National Cattlemen's Association. He served on a variety of committees for the Texas Cattle Feeders Association and has volunteered his time with the National Cattlemen Association. Mr. Hopper was involved with the Hereford Lion's Club, the Board of Directors for Deaf Smith County Chamber of Commerce, the Board of Directors for the Whiteface Booster Club, the United Way of Deaf Smith County, and the Board of Directors for the Hereford YMCA. His ties to Texas Tech were strong, as Mr. Hopper served on the Board of Directors and as President of the Texas Tech Red Raider Club. He received the Davis College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2000.

Mr. Hopper passed away in 2014. He was married to the former Joan McGee, who received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Texas Tech in 1956. They have one daughter, Robin, and two grandsons.

To support this scholarship, “Give Now” online.


Alex Yack
Senior Director of Development

Matt Williams
Associate Director of Development

Tanner Rex
Assistant Director of Development