Texas Tech University

David Koeppe Memorial Endowed Scholarship


The David Koeppe Memorial Endowed Scholarship was established by family and friends of Dr. David Koeppe in 1992. This scholarship is awarded to graduate or undergraduate students who are studying agronomy, horticulture, or entomology, with preference given to graduate students.

Dr. David Koeppe came to Texas Tech in 1981 as the chairman of the Department of Plant and Soil Science. He passed away in 1989.

During his tenure at Tech, Dr. Koeppe attracted top quality teachers and scientists, nearly doubling the number of departmental graduate students. He was instrumental in forming the multidisciplinary Institute of Biotechnology at Texas Tech. He provided leadership in the conception and organization of the Southwest Consortium of Genetics and Water Resources and served on the multi-university steering committee. He also served as Director of the Institute for Plant Stress Research at Texas Tech and worked tirelessly to gain Congressional funding to build the Plant Stress Laboratory. He was principal investigator on three successful Advanced Technology Proposals awarded to Texas Tech by the State of Texas. He recognized and supported excellence in all he did.

To support this scholarship, “Give Now” online.



Alex Yack
Senior Director of Development

Matt Williams
Director of Development

Shelbey Havens
Assistant Director of Development