Texas Tech University

George and Malcolm Young Memorial Endowed Scholarship

The George and Malcolm Young Scholarship Endowment was established by Dr. and Mrs. A. W. Young, family and friends of Malcolm Young and George Young in 1966. This scholarship is awarded to students in the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences, with preference given to those studying agronomy, who have completed at least one year of study at Texas Tech University on the basis of scholarship, character, leadership potential and service qualifications.

Originally established as the Malcolm Young Memorial Scholarship in 1959, the name was changed in 1966 following George's death.

George and Malcolm were the sons of Dr. A.W. Young, who served as the chairman of the agronomy department at Texas Tech from 1938 to 1969, and Mrs. Vera Dorothy Evangeline (Berg) Young. Malcolm Philip Young (1932-1958) graduated from Texas Tech University in 1958 from the College of Engineering with a degree in Industrial Engineering. He belonged to the Wranglers and Alpha Tau Omega Fraternities. George Arthur Young (1931-1965) graduated from Texas Tech University in 1952 with a BA in English, and in 1964 with a PHD in English. He belonged to Alpha Phi Omega Fraternity & the Westminister Student Fellows.

To support this scholarship, “Give Now” online.


Alex Yack
Senior Director of Development

Matt Williams
Director of Development

Shelbey Havens
Assistant Director of Development