Texas Tech University

Department News

seoDr. Hoyoung Seo Wins Jerry S. Rawls Distinguished Undergraduate Educator Faculty Award for Inspiring the Next Generation of Engineers
Dr. Seo has been recognized as a recipient of the Jerry S. Rawls Distinguished Undergraduate Educator Faculty Award for his exceptional dedication to engineering education. With a passion for inspiring and challenging his students to achieve their fullest potential, Dr. Seo consistently goes above and beyond in and out of the classroom and beyond to prepare students for long-term success. This award celebrates his commitment to innovative and creative teaching, both inside and outside the classroom, and serves as an inspiration for educators everywhere to strive for excellence in engineering education.


Dr. Kayleigh Millerick Wins George T. and Gladys Abell-Hanger Faculty Award



double_tAvoiding Disasters Through Engineering
Click here to view the Texas Tech Today article featuring Dr. Ting Lin's research...


double_tJoining Forces
Click here to view the Texas Tech Today article discussing Don Bundock's plans for the capstone course...


Double_TEmpowering Student Success: Ashley Idehen and the National Society of Black Engineers at the Annual Convention
Ashley Idehen, an environmental engineering graduate student in the Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering and National TORCH Chair for the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE), recently attended the NSBE's Annual Convention along with the Texas Tech chapter. The convention provided attendees with the motivation, skills, and opportunities to succeed in their future engineering endeavors, including scholarships, development workshops, and leadership training.
During the convention, Ashley had the honor of hosting a civic technical hackathon event based on the Kansas City education system. The event challenged members to use their problem-solving skills to create technical solutions to the issue presented in the 2021 STATE OF BLACK KANSAS CITY Report.
As a not-for-profit organization founded in 1975, NSBE is dedicated to promoting and supporting globally diverse technical talent. With over 35,000 members and more than 300 chapters in the U.S. and abroad, NSBE's mission is to foster the academic and professional success of Black engineering students and professionals worldwide.
The CECE Department is proud of Ashley's participation in the NSBE Annual Convention and her leadership in organizing the civic technical hackathon event that exemplifies NSBE's commitment to empowering and supporting Black engineering students and professionals.

Danny ReibleDr. Danny Reible Inducted as a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors



Double TDr. Ting Lin and Doctoral Student Xiao Luo Contribute to Study on Ice Sheet Melting in Antarctica and Greenland
Click here to view the Texas Tech Today article dicussing their research...

Moon WonDr. Moon Won Appointed as Texas Tech Center for Multidisciplinary Research in Transportation (TechMRT) Director

DBIA Competition Fall 2022CECE Student Team Wins First Place in the Southwest Region of the 2022 Student Design-Build Competition
The High Plains Design and Construction team at Texas Tech won the regional (first phase) Design-Build competition this semester and will move on to the second phase at the National DBIA Conference in Las Vegas this November. Both phases in the competition combine architectural design, construction cost and scheduling, and company organization. For phase two, the team will be competing against seven other teams nationally, and will create a project proposal for a parking garage, rec field, and classrooms on a college campus. The top three teams will get to present at the conference in Las Vegas. The Texas Tech team expressed, "We are all very excited to be competing in such a large competition and can't wait to represent TTU nationally."

Double TCECE Faculty Member Contributes to Study on “Forever Chemicals”
Click here to view The Guardian news article...

Department of Civil, Environmental, & Construction Engineering