Texas Tech University

Animal Science Faculty

Name Office Phone E-mail
Michael Ballou, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor: Ruminant Nutrition and Immunology;
Associate Dean for Research
GO 108i 806-834-6513 michael.ballou@ttu.edu
Heidi Brady, Ph.D.
Professor: Equine Behavior, Reproductive Physiology, Therapeutic Riding
AFS 214 806-834-8484 heidi.brady@ttu.edu
Chance Brooks, Ph.D.
Associate Chair & Professor: Meat Science
AFS 200E 806-834-3517 chance.brooks@ttu.edu
Tiffanie Brooks, D.V.M.
Instructor: Veterinary Medicine
ESB 022B 806-834-8588 tiffanie.brooks@ttu.edu
Andrea Garmyn, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
MLAB 102 806-834-6559 andrea.garmyn@ttu.edu
Nathan Hall, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor: Companion Animals
AFS 221 806-834-8924 nathaniel.j.hall@ttu.edu
Darren Henry, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
AFS 206 806-834-2075 darren.henry@ttu.edu
Sam Jackson, Ph.D.
Professor: Sheep and Goats
AFS 200E 806-834-7185 sam.jackson@ttu.edu
Brad Johnson, Ph.D.
Gordon W. Davis Regent's Chair in Meat & Muscle Biology
AFS 200F 806-834-7057 bradley.johnson@ttu.edu
Guy Loneragan, Ph.D.
Professor: Food Safety & Public Health, Livestock
AFS 224 806-834-1291 guy.loneragan@ttu.edu
John McGlone, Ph.D.
Professor: Swine, Animal Welfare, Animal Behavior
AFS 204 806-834-8275 john.mcglone@ttu.edu
Eila Machado
Instructor, P/T
AFS 205A 806-834-0433 eila.machado@ttu.edu
Markus Miller, Ph.D.
Professor and SALE Chair: Meat Science, Food Processing & Preservation
AFS 200H 806-834-0837 mfmrraider@aol.com
Gretchen Neary, D.V.M.
Instructor, P/T
    gretchen.neary@ttu.edu
Joseph Neary, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
AFS 211  806-834-4442 joe.neary@ttu.edu
Mike Orth, Ph.D.
Chair & Professor
AFS 103C 806-834-5653 michael.orth@ttu.edu
Samuel Prien, Ph.D.
Professor: Reproductive Physiology
HSC 3B201A 806-743-2358 samuel.prien@ttuhsc.edu
Alexandra (Sasha) Protopopova, PhD, CPDT-KA
Assistant Professor: Companion Animal Science
AFS 219 806-834-2882 a.protopopova@ttu.edu
Anoosh Rakhshandeh, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Swine Nutrition and Health
AFS 203 806-834-3622 anoosh.rakhshandeh@ttu.edu
Ryan Rathmann, Ph.D.
John W. and Doris Jones Professorship Holder: Beef Cattle Biology, Livestock Judging
AFS 200D 806-834-7820 ryan.rathmann@ttu.edu
Kelly Riccitelli, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Practice: Equine
AFS 210  806-834-8133 kelly.riccitelli@ttu.edu
Jhones Sarturi, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Beef Cattle Nutrition and Metabolism
AFS 207 806-834-4926 j.sarturi@ttu.edu
Katy Schroeder, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor: Companion Animal Science
 AFS 222 806-834-5894  katy.schroeder@ttu.edu

Animal & Food Sciences