Texas Tech University

Staff Appreciation Award

In Spring 2010, the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry instituted a new departmental award to recognize a staff member for his or her service, with emphasis on service within the past two calendar years. Two departmental staff awards will be given every year, one selected from the Technical category and one selected from the Administrative category. A staff member may receive this award no more than once every five years.

Award Winners

Year Recipient Staff
2023 Kameron Harrison Technical
2023 Lisa Thomas Administrative
2022 Charles W. Pfeiffer Technical
2022 Dorothy Dent Administrative
2021 Dr. Piotr Dobrowolski Technical
2021 Quentin Vaughn Administrative
2020 LaQuetta Purkiss Technical
2020 Donna M. Forsyth Administrative
2019 Dr. Daniel K. Unruh Technical
2019 Dr. Robert D. Long Administrative
2018 Vincent E. Wilde Technical
2018 Jerry D. Franco Administrative
2017 Glenda J. Schaefer Administrative
2016 Jeanne Bertonazzi Technical
2015 Donna C. Smith Administrative
2014 Jerry A. Walton Technical
2013 Linda Rodriguez Administrative
2012 Scott Hiemstra Technical
2011 Carly Jenkins Administrative
2010 Don Hodgkins Technical

Nomination Procedure

The Awards Committee invites faculty, staff, postdocs, and graduate students to nominate a member of the technical staff or the administrative staff for this award. Members of the Awards Committee will not be allowed to submit nominations. The nomination should be in the form of a letter addressed to Dr. Michael Mayer.

The letter should be written in 12-point font with single-spaced lines and it should not exceed 2 pages. The letter should document instances of excellence in a staff member's service to the department. Examples of excellence in service include coming up with creative solutions to problems or going above and beyond the call of duty when responding to the needs of the person he/she is serving. The deadline for nomination letters is March 15th.

The Awards Committee will meet shortly after the deadline to decide on the winners. The winners of this award will be honored at the Departmental Awards Ceremony in late April or early May and by a nameplate on the Staff Appreciation Award Plaque in the "Strive for Honor" display case on the first floor foyer.

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

  • Address

    1204 Boston Avenue, Lubbock, TX 79409-1061
  • Phone