Texas Tech University

Distinguished Engineer Citations

Distinguished Engineer Photo: E. Dave Newman
E. Dave Newman

E. Dave Newman

Distinguished Engineer



Mechanical Engineering – 1964



At Time of Nomination in 1991

E. Dave Newman, born November 25, 1940, in Winnsboro, Texas, received his B.S. in Mechanical Engineering in 1964 from Texas Tech University. He attended the Executive Program in Business Administration of Columbia University in 1984.

Mr. Newman joined Amoco Production Company in 1964 as an engineer and since then has held a number of engineering and managerial positions. He served as Production Coordinator Superintendent in Houston in 1978. From 1978 to 1981, he was Division Operations Superintendent in Houston. Mr. Newman was Division Production Manager from 1981 to 1985. In 1985, he was appointed Vice President of Production for the Africa and Middle East Region, and in 1986, he became Regional Production Manager in Houston. From 1987 to 1989, he was Vice President of Production Services. He was named Acting Houston Regional Manager in January 1989. From April 1989 until February 1991, he served as Vice President of Amoco’s Denver Region. In February of this year, he was made Acting Group Vice President – U.S.A. Operations and will be located in Chicago. He also currently serves as Amoco Corporation’s University Executive for Texas Tech University.

Presently, Mr. Newman is a member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and the American Petroleum Institute. Concurrent with his position in Denver, he served as secretary–treasurer for the Rocky Mountain Oil and Gas Association and was a member of its Board of Directors and Executive and Operating Committees. He also served on the Institute of International Education’s Regional Advisory Board and the INROADS/Denver Board of Directors.

Mr. Newman and his wife, Ann, will reside in the Chicago area. They have three children, Eric, Colleen, and Julia.

It is indeed a privilege for Texas Tech to designate E.D. Newman as DISTINGUISHED ENGINEER.

Return to the Past Winners page.