Texas Tech University

2009 Distinguished Engineers


2009 Distinguished Engineer Award Recipients

2009 Distinguished Engineers
(From left to right) Blake Augsburger ('87 BSME), Chi-Ming Chang ('83 MSIE), Shelby Johnson ('86 BSCTech), James Edmiston ('82 BSPE), J.G. "Greg" Soules ('79 BSCE)

The Texas Tech University Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering named Blake Augsburger, Chi-Ming Chang, Shelby Johnson, James Edmiston, and J.G. "Greg" Soules as recipients of its 2009 Distinguished Engineer Award on April 3 at a luncheon on the Texas Tech campus.

The Distinguished Engineer Award was established during the 1966-1967 academic year to recognize the most outstanding alumni of the Whitacre College of Engineering. Since that time, 194 graduates of the Whitacre College of Engineering have received this honor. Recipients of the award must be distinguished in their profession, an inspiration to their peers, and have demonstrated a continuing interest in areas outside the field of engineering.

Distinguished Engineer Archives

Full biographies, citations, and photos of all of the Whitacre College of Engineering Distinguished Engineers can be found in the Distinguished Engineers Archives.